Double Layer Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this is very rich, i used a 5.9 oz instant chocolate pudding and followed the instructions on that for pie and an oreo crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this pie for my little brother for Thanksgiving dinner because he doesn't like pumpkin pie or any other thanksgiving-ish pies, and he loved it. When I read the recipe, I saw that it called for whipped cream but assumed that was only for the topping, so I bought a can of spray whipped cream. When I went to make it I realized that it actually called for a tub of frozen whipped cream. Oops! I had to make some last minute home-made whipped cream, which (thankfully) turned out pretty well. Overall this pie was delicious and super easy! I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Outstanding! Made this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. I did not cut down the cream cheese, thankfully, because it was perfect. I did use 1 cup millk (skim) and 1 cup half-n-half. I put a layer of chopped reeses cups in between the PB and choc layers. I was a little worried about the choc layer b/c it seemed so lumpy when I was trying to stir it up but it turned out great. I used a large graham cracker crust and topped it with chopped reeses cups. Will definately make again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Before modifications, not very chocolaty. Here's how I improved: used prepared Oreo pie crust, brushed melted semi-sweet choc chips on bottom (microwave on 50% power in 15 second increments until half chips melt; stir until all melt), let harden in freezer 15 min. PB layer: used 1/3 package cream cheese, half & half and 3 TBSP sugar. Topped with 2nd Oreo pie crust and chopped Reese's. Pudding layer: used heavy cream and milk, added more choc chips. Saved remaining whipped topping for separate layer. Several people at 2012 Thanksgiving dinner requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great Recipe! This was my first time making a pie (other than a pumpkin) and it turned out great! I used the suggestion of using 1 Cup Milk & 1 Cup Half&Half (instead of 2 Cups Milk). The consistency was thick. All the reviews saying it's really rich - believe them; it is! A sliver is just enough! A suggestion is to put some cool-whip on top to help cut down on the richness. A true hit with all at Thanksgiving dinner! Everyone liked that is was both chocolate and peanut butter combined. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I substituted fancy coffee creamer for the milk and crunchy PB (also, i only had a shortbread crust on hand) this pie was FABULOUS AND EASY!!! try it you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee Kay
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe is FANTASTIC. I made it for my boyfriend for his 31st birthday and he LOVED it. He said it tasted high class, and when I told him it was really easy to make, he didn't believe me! A small revision: I found that the pie was a bit loose, so I froze it for 2 hours then refrigerated it for 2 more (instead of just refrigerating for 4). It worked perfectly - the pie thawed but was still solid enough to cut and serve neatly. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I give this a 3 and my b/f gives it a 5. I bit to heavy for me, but he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by ceb00a
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very Rich!!!. I made the recipe as is with just a few small changes. I made this in a springform pan with an crushed oreo base (I crush oreo's and add butter to help them stick together). Next I spread on the peanut butter layer. I forgot to add the sugar in this layer but I didn't misss it. I then stuck an oreo half in the peanut butter layer all the way around the inside edge of my springform pan. Next I layered on the chocolate layer. I used whole milk and my pudding mix was REALLY thick. I stuck these layers in the freezer for about 30min to allow everything to set well. I topped the pie with whipped cream and sprinkled crushed oreo's on top. This made for a very rich dessert with a nice presentation. I didn't have 4hours to let this sit in the fridge before serving it so I put it in the freezer for about an hour and it setup nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceb00a
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made my own crust using crushed up chocolate sandwich cookies (like Oreo) and melted butter. I also alternated the peanut butter and chocolate mixtures to make four layers instead of two, smoothed a bit of whipped topping over that and sprinkled broken up peanut butter cups on top. A rich, delicious dessert. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States