Double Layer Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I would call this "double layer chocolate peanut butter mousse pie." It was very good, and rich. I'd make it again if my husband asks, but I'd like to experiment with other recipes to find more of a balance; the peanut butter overwhelmed the chocolate and I was looking for something creamy rather than mousse-like. But don't get me wrong, it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mitchell Tchobanian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I made this pie for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I will definetely make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This is wonderful! I made it with chunky peanut butter and the extra crunch is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEC047

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the second time I made it and it always turns out wonderful! I made it for my husband's birthday instead of cake! (He likes pie better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I did put it on a traditional pie crust instead of graham cracker because it sounded so sweet to start with, but I don't think a person could go wrong with any pie crust they choose. I also used the extra creamy cool whip. Turned out fantastic. I can't imagine how someone could screw it up and not have it set up if they were following the directions - the pudding was setting up just fine - mix it long enough and then add the whipped topping, it was already firming up as I was spooning it out. Really a no-fail recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Brought this to a dinner party and everyone raved about the pie. I have even gotten several comments on how delicicous it was even months after the party. It was very quick and easy to make, and I will definitely make again. Word of caution, do not use whipped cream in a can to decorate unless you plan to serve it right away because it melts even when refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This pie was perfect! I used a home made pie crust instead and cut the chocolate pudding mixture to one box instead of two... it yielded the perfect amount to fill the rest of the pie. From reading previous reviews, I was almost tempted to use a whole 8 ounce package of cream cheese, as I am a complete cream cheese lover.. however, I am glad that I didn't and stuck to the recipe - otherwise it would have overpowered the peanut butter. I also didn't have any peanut butter cups to top it with but it still tasted fabulous without them.... It is one big peanut butter cup itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was excellent! Exactly what I was hoping for! I've made this twice in the last week and a half. It's been a hit with everyone who's eaten it (but most couldn't finish a 1/8 piece of the pie--I suggest cutting it in 12 slices). If you want a more "restaurant-style" look, try piping whipped cream around the edge of the filling (or over the whole thing) and crumbling the Reese's cups on top (easier to do when they're cold). Either way, it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This pie turned out pretty good. I took the advice of a few others and used equal parts milk and heavy cream for the chocolate layer, and I did like how it turned out. I wish the peanut butter layer was a little "lighter," it just seemed to be SO rich and heavy, my sister ended up finishing only the chocolate portion of her piece. But overall, my family did really like it and said it tasted like a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup. Also, I had a lot of the pie filling leftover, so I combined the leftover and will serve it as a sweet dip with animal crackers, nilla wafers, or graham cracker sticks. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was good...a little sweet for my taste, but m guests liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States