Double Layer Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the second time I made it and it always turns out wonderful! I made it for my husband's birthday instead of cake! (He likes pie better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I did put it on a traditional pie crust instead of graham cracker because it sounded so sweet to start with, but I don't think a person could go wrong with any pie crust they choose. I also used the extra creamy cool whip. Turned out fantastic. I can't imagine how someone could screw it up and not have it set up if they were following the directions - the pudding was setting up just fine - mix it long enough and then add the whipped topping, it was already firming up as I was spooning it out. Really a no-fail recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Brought this to a dinner party and everyone raved about the pie. I have even gotten several comments on how delicicous it was even months after the party. It was very quick and easy to make, and I will definitely make again. Word of caution, do not use whipped cream in a can to decorate unless you plan to serve it right away because it melts even when refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This pie was perfect! I used a home made pie crust instead and cut the chocolate pudding mixture to one box instead of two... it yielded the perfect amount to fill the rest of the pie. From reading previous reviews, I was almost tempted to use a whole 8 ounce package of cream cheese, as I am a complete cream cheese lover.. however, I am glad that I didn't and stuck to the recipe - otherwise it would have overpowered the peanut butter. I also didn't have any peanut butter cups to top it with but it still tasted fabulous without them.... It is one big peanut butter cup itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was excellent! Exactly what I was hoping for! I've made this twice in the last week and a half. It's been a hit with everyone who's eaten it (but most couldn't finish a 1/8 piece of the pie--I suggest cutting it in 12 slices). If you want a more "restaurant-style" look, try piping whipped cream around the edge of the filling (or over the whole thing) and crumbling the Reese's cups on top (easier to do when they're cold). Either way, it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This pie turned out pretty good. I took the advice of a few others and used equal parts milk and heavy cream for the chocolate layer, and I did like how it turned out. I wish the peanut butter layer was a little "lighter," it just seemed to be SO rich and heavy, my sister ended up finishing only the chocolate portion of her piece. But overall, my family did really like it and said it tasted like a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup. Also, I had a lot of the pie filling leftover, so I combined the leftover and will serve it as a sweet dip with animal crackers, nilla wafers, or graham cracker sticks. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was good...a little sweet for my taste, but m guests liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I took this pie to a dinner get-together and everyone raved. I made a few modifications, however. In order to make the peanut butter layer a little more creamy, I used 1/2 and 1/2 and added about another 2 Tablespoons. I did not affect the "setup" meaning that the pie held together nicely and was very creamy. Also, since the standard ratio for Jello instant "pie" filling is 1-3/4 c. milk to one package, and the recipe calls for 2 c. milk to TWO packages, I used 1/2 and 1/2 (to increase creaminess) and increased the measurement to 3 cups. I found that the two cups was just not enough as I was mixing it (very "gummy"). I made these changes to suit my taste -- no reflection on the basic recipe which was a HUGE hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Truly unspectacular! My wife would not allow me to sample the original peanut butter layer before a drastic reconstruction of the paste. After doubling up on peanut butter, and adding a lot of little things that might make cream cheese taste like peanut butter, it tasted a lot like cream cheese and peanut butter. Still, I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Who! If you are a peanut-butter/chocolate FREAK like I am ,the recipe you have been searching for has been found! The very first time I made this, I jumped the gun and got cook & serve pudding and of course I destroyed it. The second time I did it the right way and oh boy...this is an insanely good pie! I have to watch my sugar intake so I used sugar-free Cool-Whip and sugar-free pudding and skipped the crust. I used the entire 8 oz. cream cheese and my only fripe is that you can only eat so much at a time because it is very, very rich! You are in for a treat making this one! Thank you so much for your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMurda77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States