Double-Delight Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made these cookies last week. They are "just" another peanut butter cookie. I gave some to friends and they had the same opinion. They are actually a pain to make. Cutting the dough and flattening is a pain, the dough sticks to your hand and is greasy. They are a good friendly comfort cookie but I wouldn't make them again. Not worth it. Better recipes out there. [IMG]http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b323/BooKittyMaggie/100_2333.jpg[/IMG]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
A peanut butter cookie with a creamy filling. YUM! I made a double batch. They go quickly! Tip: Keep the filling mixture under 1 inch so you have enough for all the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My sister made these cookies and we couldn't stop eating them. The only complaint she had was that the dough was a little too hard to work with (too sticky). We liked them so well that I decided to make them myself today, but I was out of peanuts and I didn't have the cookie dough. So I used a cookie dough recipe from this site, Dad's Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies, and I made them without the peanuts. WOW! Even better! And the dough was easy to work with. Thank you, Carolyn. These really are million dollar cookies! P.S. To get the right amount of filling, cut it into 24 pieces, just like the dough, beforehand. You will then have the perfect amount for each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
These cookies are pretty darn tasty! Congrats! I'd definitely make them again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This cookies were crispy, I prefer soft and chewy. Also, the peanut butter filling was very runny, so added additional powdered sugar to make it easy to roll into balls. Good flavor, but not a "do-over" at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I thought these were great. The creamy middle was a nice contrast to the crunchy cookie, and it was the cinnamon/peanut mixture on the outside that puts them over the top! However, they were messy, and more work than "from scratch" cookies. Also, I only got about 19 cookies so I will have to measure the dough better next time. Also watch time; they continue to cook a little after taking them out. Thanks for million dollar winner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
MMMM! I cut down on the cinnamon, but next time I won't, it gives the cookie a little something different. These are awesome, a little time consuming but worth it for the result. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
very good! i didn't use the peanuts in my recipe because i didn't have any on hand, but i didn't miss them. i love the creamy center of these cookies! also, i used my 1 teaspoon measuring spoon for a precise way to measure out 24 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
In the interest of cooking science, I made these exactly as written. I could not find the name-brand dry roasted peanuts in my area, so I used Safeway brand. Then, I made an 'all-homemade' version, using natural peanut butter, and a homemade cookie dough (Classic Peanut Butter Cookies) from this site. Nobody at work could tell which one was which. The prizewinner's peanut butter center did work slightly better than the homemade version's middle (Go Carolyn Gurtz!), but you did get a creamy middle in both, so the homemade version worked, too, which surprised me. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
What's the point of having a recipe that uses cookie-dough? You can't get this stuff everywhere in the world - not good for international users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States