Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
There are many ways to improve this taco recipe. As a Mexican, I almost cringed looking at this recipe. It's really not that hard to make it the right way but a lot of people assume it is. First off, don't buy canned beans, that's just full of preservatives, salt and processed chemicals. To make refried beans just mash cooked (boiled beans) with a little oil for flavor along with salt. For the meat, don't add seasoning, just sautee garlic, onion, tomato and then add meat to pan to cook and then add each spice as you like. Guacamole does not have sour cream and it includes avocado, tomato, onion, cilantro, lime, lime zest, jalapeno salt and pepper. Also, tortillas for tacos should really be corn tortillas for the authentic Mexican taste. If you want hard shell tacos simply place meat in the tortilla and fry over a pan on each side until crispy. You can also make taquitos this way by wrapping tortilla like a flute and securing with a toothpick while frying. Finally, please use queso fresco, a moist crumbly Mexican cheese, you wont be sorry. Hope this helpas and motivates people to make homemade tacos the way a Mexican family would. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I spread the refried beans on the soft shell and then put in in the microwave for about 15-20 seconds to soften up the shell without drying it out too much before surrounding the hard shell. I like mine with queso, lettuce, tomato, and sour cream. My hubby likes lettuce, tomato, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream, and taco sauce on his. Also, as it indicates in the ingredients list by specifying a size, it is quite important that you use the right size soft shells that fit the size of the hard shells so you don't have too much or too little outside coverage. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These are great for people that like Taco Bell's double decker. Same basic principle applies - don't wait too long to eat or the crunch is history!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It is beyond me why people like reviewer Robert makes such ridiculous posts. You don't need to add such ignorant comments. Please act like an adult....geez. Great recipe, my husband liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Probably the best Taco I've ever had...My son & I always differed on the choice of hard Tacos (him), vs soft Tacos (me) - this recipe takes care of both. Couldn't find a ripe fruit for the guacamole so I cut it into tiny pieces & mixed with sour cream and lime juice. Very, very tasty and without the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were very good and fun to make! A different twist to our taco night. I did not make the gaucamole because the avocados at the store were very hard! Aside from that, the recipe turned out great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Took the idea and made it the same way I make our favorite tacos. I'm not sure if we'll ever go back to the old way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made tacos this way,but used taco sauce instead of the dry seasonings packet for tacos. It always makes it so much better,and no migraines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were sooooooo good. I followed the directions except I didn't add the taco seasoning to the refried beans. The shells held together very well and didn't move around using the beans. I did make mine using guacamole on the soft tortilla shell, and stuffed the hard taco shell with refried beans topped with all the fixings, but it did get VERY messy and the soft shell moved all over the place while I was eating!!! But it was still very good and a good way to make this meatless. (If you use veg. refried beans of course) I think this is how we will make our tacos from now on!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Husband is a taco junkie and LOVED this. We have eaten Taco Bells version, just never thought to do it at home. Thank you for the idea. The hard shells didn't explode and we were able to fit more stuff into each taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States