Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I spread the refried beans on the soft shell and then put in in the microwave for about 15-20 seconds to soften up the shell without drying it out too much before surrounding the hard shell. I like mine with queso, lettuce, tomato, and sour cream. My hubby likes lettuce, tomato, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, sour cream, and taco sauce on his. Also, as it indicates in the ingredients list by specifying a size, it is quite important that you use the right size soft shells that fit the size of the hard shells so you don't have too much or too little outside coverage. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These are great for people that like Taco Bell's double decker. Same basic principle applies - don't wait too long to eat or the crunch is history!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Pretty good but not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yum! We loved these. I had to buy premade guacamole because I couldn't find any decent avocadoes, but that's the only change I made. These will be made again in this house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Took the idea and made it the same way I make our favorite tacos. I'm not sure if we'll ever go back to the old way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Probably the best Taco I've ever had...My son & I always differed on the choice of hard Tacos (him), vs soft Tacos (me) - this recipe takes care of both. Couldn't find a ripe fruit for the guacamole so I cut it into tiny pieces & mixed with sour cream and lime juice. Very, very tasty and without the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were sooooooo good. I followed the directions except I didn't add the taco seasoning to the refried beans. The shells held together very well and didn't move around using the beans. I did make mine using guacamole on the soft tortilla shell, and stuffed the hard taco shell with refried beans topped with all the fixings, but it did get VERY messy and the soft shell moved all over the place while I was eating!!! But it was still very good and a good way to make this meatless. (If you use veg. refried beans of course) I think this is how we will make our tacos from now on!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly as directed and my husband and I had no complaints EXCEPT that we wished we'd used a low sodium taco seasoning packet. We don't cook with a lot of salt normally, and the seasoning packet, while tasty, was tremendously salty. Live and learn! Still, a very, very tasty double decker taco recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were very good and fun to make! A different twist to our taco night. I did not make the gaucamole because the avocados at the store were very hard! Aside from that, the recipe turned out great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made tacos this way,but used taco sauce instead of the dry seasonings packet for tacos. It always makes it so much better,and no migraines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belding, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orleans, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States