Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is almost exactly the way I've been making them for years. What a great way to have the crunchy taco and not have it fall all over your shirt! My grown up children still make them for their families. Hmmm. Makes me hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is something my husband always does when we have tacos at home. I never considered it to be a recipe per se. I use all the taco seasoning in the meat and just heat up the can of beans, no additional ingredients necessary. You CAN of course add the water and spices to the beans, but why add an extra step? :) I don't heat the tortilla shells but do heat the flour tortillas in the microwave. Double decker tacos are definitely good! Also we use more than 2 T of each ingredient, that would make for some skimpy tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Instead of of pkg taco seasoning, I used "Taco Seasoning I" from this site, adding about 1-1/2 TBSP to the meat and did not add any seasoning to the beans. Unfortunately, the guacamole sauce lacks flavor. I added additional sour cream and seasonings, but it's just a garnish and isn't necessary unless you really like guacamole. I can't say enough about these. They are so easy to eat without making a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
By the time you're finished building these its hard to eat more than two... Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I loved this recipe..i just recently made it two nights ago and it was sooo delicious. my hubby ate two of them and was stuffed and so was i. I left out the refried beans and stuffed it to the very top and even the tortilla it self. it looked like a monster taco instead but was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
yummy! i should've made more filling so i could indulge myself more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We REALLY liked these! Great change from traditional tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made this exactly as called for, but it didn't quite turn out as I'd hoped. The recipe is a good idea and can be easily adapted to fit all tastes! My problem I had, was the 2/3 cup of water was WAY too much for the beans. They turned out watery and weren't spreadable. So I just mixed it in with the taco meat and used it that way. I also bought soft tortillas that were too big, so that was a little frustrating as well. Buy the smallest tortillas that come in a pkg. of 20 and they will fit perfectly around the hard shells. Then reduce the amount of water added to the beans by half. I, also, prefer lemon juice instead of lime in the guacamole. HOWEVER, all in all, this is an excellent recipe worth repeating and adding your own flair to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
great way to change up ordinary tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States