Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
of course this is like something you would get in a fast food place....thats why we all love to eat at them. Great recipe..ignore the nay sayers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Double Decker Tacos were on the menu last evening.........awesome! Not only were they delicious, they were less messy than just having them in a hard shell. The only thing I did was to "kick up a notch" the seasoning mix....we like things a bit more spicy. And as far as reviewer Robert's comments.....this is a food forum.....who is holding a gun to his head to partake of this shared recipe? Gold stars to the individual sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great recipe. The only change that I made was to omit the hard taco shells since hubby has a hard time eating them. So soft tacos it was, and they were really delish, too. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and they were amazing. Next time I will tweak some things but this was delicious and we all filled ours with our own selection of toppings. I can speak for all the mothers of teenage boys when I say this fills them up faster than normal tacos. My son was so excited that I was making a Taco Bell food that he actually helped me make them - that is a first, but hopefully a start to him being interested in cooking. My husband said they were just tacos with a tortilla on it - but he is hard to please so he doesn't count. Enjoy this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
No surprise here that these are the BEST tacos ever. I've been making them this way for years as our family has both hard/soft shell preferences. When I made my first combo shell taco everyone ooohed & aaahed & now that's all we serve. P.S. ROBERT...you are an & not welcome on this site. Nobody wants your negativity. Go Away or be Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It is beyond me why people like reviewer Robert makes such ridiculous posts. You don't need to add such ignorant comments. Please act like an adult....geez. Great recipe, my husband liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
What a great way to keep tacos from crumbling in you hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
My son always loved the "popular franchise" version of this, so we've always had the fixin's available to make them this way, anytime we have tacos. The only thing we don't do is to add the taco seasoning to the refried beans. However; we use refried beans w/ green chilies. I warm the hard shells in my toaster oven, while the soft tortillas are warmed in the micro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
To create an authenticly ground meat mixture, I put my cooked ground beef in my food processor until it is ground to a nice meal texture. To eliminate as much of the fat as possible I also place it in a sieve or collander and pour boiling water over it very slowly, BEFORE grinding it in the processor. It does not affect the flavor at all. The easiest way to do this is to put shreaded paper or newspaper in a very large pot and set the collander over it. The paper absorbs the water and grease for easy disposal. GREAT RECIPE! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I highly recommend this recipe. I have been eating this type of super taco since 1976 and I never grow tired of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States