Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used black beans instead of refried, but followed the recipe otherwise. Yum! It was so much easier to eat the tacos this way. I'm hooked for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Making these for dinner tonight. No gaucamole though cause the grocer doesn't have any good fruit in. I know they will be good cause I made them for years at TB. Thanks for the recipe. Never tried to make them at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Just ok. I liked the idea of it, but the outer tortilla got pretty soggy and it was just all too much. Would prefer either hard or soft shell by themselves. Sorry. Wasn't bad in any way, just not something I'd go to the effort to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is a great twist on the classic taco. Enfolding the hard taco shell within the soft tortilla makes eating the taco far more manageable and cleaner. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wow! So good but heavy. I could only eat one. Used Taco Seasoning I for the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These were pretty good, a neat idea. I did take a couple of shortcuts, just chopped up the avocado and used it like that instead of making the "guacamole" and I just microwaved the beans to heat them through. I also chose to use Tostitos brand queso dip instead of shredded cheddar cheese, but just because I happened to have some. This would be good too with cheese melted on the flour tortilla instead of beans, like Taco Bell's cheesey gordita crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was good, but it could have been better. When we have taco's we've used the refried bean method and used Fajita seasons by McCormick. Unfortunately I was hoping to get my family into eating taco's and this didn't do it. Thanks for the meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious recipe and it was fun to make. I made a vegetarian version of this by using veg. refried beans (spread on the soft tortilla) and black beans I had cooked up with some onion, green pepper, and jalapeno were used as the filling for the crisp taco shells The tacos stayed together nicely and I just chopped up the veggies and let everybody put whatever combination of lettuce, tomato, onion, cheese and sour cream they enjoy. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I was very leary to use the guacamole recipe with sour cream so I used the allrecipes "guacamole" recipe by Bob Cody. I already knew that recipe is a winner & easy. Since the guacamole already has tomatoes I skipped putting anymore on the taco. I felt the 2/3 cup water was WAY too much....I'll start with 1/4 cup and slowly add up to a 1/2 cup next time. My beans were too watery with 2/3 cup. I might try using spicy refried beans next time and just using all the taco seasoning on the beef. I had no problem with soggy taco shells & no problem using generic taco shells. I do recommend white flour tortillas, I tried wheat and it wasn't the same. This recipe is AMAZING, fun, and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Used roasted chicken with chicken taco mix instead to use up some leftovers. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States