Double Decker Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made these last year and my family loved it. For my kids' birthdays, I always make them whatever they want. When I asked my youngest what he wanted for his birthday meal he asked "Can you make those hard tacos with the soft ones and the beans?" I followed the directions as written and we have a winner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Whole family loved them! We are lucky enough to have access to fresh made tortilla dough, just heat up cast iron skillet and cook fresh tortillas. We bought corn shells at grocery store For beans we simply use Ranch style black beans, add a lil seasoning to them and puree them with emersion blender. We used ground venison (Texas whitetail) cooked with a lil seasoning, keeps the meat very healthy Avocados are perfect this time of year too. Have cheese, sour cream, cilantro, jalapenos, etc. for toppings Lil kids can eat them without a huge disaster is best part of double decker tacos Devin Thomas Mutts and Butts BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin K Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
My kids loved it. Great change from ordinary tacos. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So good!! Always looked for a solution to hard-to-eat hard taco shells! The key to this recipe is the refried beans on the soft shell. Red onion also gives it a kick! This is how I'm making tacos from now on !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Its really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
As a south Texas resident for most of my life, I just want to say that while this recipe may not be "authentic Mexican", it's very tasty and probably appealing to most Americans. lbgardea, if you don't like the recipe, don't cook it. Or better yet, post your own please. cattfm303, thanks for the tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
We love this recipe! The avocados in my store were hard as a rock, so we had to skip that. Would have been even better with that addition. We love refried beans, however, and it worked great as a glue to keep the hard and soft tacos together. Really yummy and easy to throw together. I used the box of Taco Bell hard and soft shells and the packet of seasoning that came with it. Usually try to make my own taco seasoning, but was in a hurry last night and the box mix helped speed things up. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
make sure to get the your flour tortillas as close to the size of the corn tortillas. kids liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used black beans instead of refried, but followed the recipe otherwise. Yum! It was so much easier to eat the tacos this way. I'm hooked for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States