Double Dare Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I liked these peaches a lot - but it got mixed reviews from the fam. One son couldn't decide - he kinda liked it, kinda didn't. One son didn't expect the heat and despite loving hot and spicy food didn't care for it. Husband said it was good, but he probably wouldn't make it again. So - mixed bag. But, I enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! You can make this as spicy or mild as you like. We love spicy so I used fresh peppers from my garden and some ground red pepper and fresh Palisade Peaches from the farmers market. Thank you SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
My whole family really likes this. I'm a weeny white girl and only used one habanero and it was fantastic. Sweet soft peaches, then a little heat right in the back of the throat. Even the kids love it, with or without ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was fantastic! This is a new family favorite. I could see serving it with a nice cheese/cracker combo. So delicious! Mine could have been hotter, so I'll try letting the peppers simmer longer or buy bigger ones next time. I just tried it with habanero peppers, blackberries, white sugar and vanilla. It was also delicious, but be careful w/the vanilla or don't use it at all; it made the dish smell and taste a bit like a doughnut (filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are incredible! They taste EXACTLY as described. Sweet peaches followed by the heat...ice cream required! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Well, I stole my wife's ID to write this review. She saw the recipe and we just happened to pick peaches yesterday and I had picked a couple habeneros during the week (they're not quite ripe yet). We had stuffed bell peppers for dinner with most ingredients from the garden, then she surprised me with this. My mouth is still tingling. The ice cream sweet and cool with the peaches hot and spicy is a perfect combination. Can't wait to share it with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. Truly a unique taste experience. I have fixed it twice for company and everyone loved it, commenting that they'd never tasted anything quite like it. I use habaneros from my garden to make this and it has just the right amount of heat. Habaneros have a wonderful, almost fruity (and yes, HOT!) quality and I think by substituting other types of peppers you would lose some of the sophistication of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good, would make again but would include the seeds or add more peppers cuz it wasn't very hot even by itself (and with the ice cream it was even milder). I liked the fact that the peaches stayed relatively crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
such a great idea! this had my entire family going wild -- even those with the most sensitive stomachs. the flavors compliment each other so perfectly that not one overwhelms another. i would have to agree with pianobarry and say to serve the ice cream seperately, otherwise it quickly melts and takes the heat (both kinds) down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
WOOOOHOO! I suspected this might be too hot for many of the people I was serving it for, but it really wasn't. Besides the ice cream that helps cool it off, the heat is just a little end note and doesn't overwhelm the peaches. I recommend making sure you don't dice the peppers too small. Maybe just chop them in quarters. The butter gets a little frothy and it can be hard to find the peppers to take them out. You wouldn't want someone to come across one on accident! YIKES! Everyone loved it. GREAT unique recipe. I'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

How to Make BBQ Peaches

See how to make peaches grilled on the ’que.

Balsamic-Glazed Peaches for Roasted Pork

Peaches caramelized with butter and balsamic vinegar are perfect with pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States