Double Crust Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nicholio
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The hubs was jonesing for Chicago-style deep dish, so I made this in my cast-iron skillet, without a top crust. It was terrific. My dough needed more flour (23/4 cups total, and I used spelt flour for 1 of those cups). I oiled the skillet and sprinkled it with cornmeal to keep it from sticking (worked great!). I added Canadian bacon beneath the sausage and skipped the pepperoni and other veg. And I spiked the fresh tomato sauce with a little crushed fennel seed and extra oregano, 'cause that's how we roll. I also temped the sausage just to make sure it was done, and it hit 160 degrees at 50 minutes. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is simply the best pizza ever !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WFVIDAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe! It tasted just like the restaurant stuffed pizzas we have had in restaurants! I will definitely make this again. It is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Grate recipe i added cornmeal and wow!!! my pizzas only lasted 2 minutes so i only got to try the crust but IT was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Except for the crust, this recipe reminds me a bit of the Pizzeria Uno's pizza I had years ago. I used home-canned tomatoes (16 oz. that I cooked down) and fresh garlic, added a little oregano, and I did omit the sugar. I didn't wait the full 15 minutes of resting after cooking, which is probably what made the crust difficult to remove from the springform pan; the pieces I cut a little later came out without difficulty. Thank you for a very good recipe that my family has already requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StaceyD
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I just love this pizza. (my picture is currently 2 of 15). As others have stated, I too had to add a little extra flour to the dough. I also am quite free in my sauce choice since I usually go with what I have made and is in the freezer. For a family get-together, I don't make one huge pie anymore. I use mini spring-form pans instead. That turns it into a party and everyone can customize to their liking. One mini pan will usually serve two people. Or just my brother :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kirbahashi
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is probably one of the best stuffed pizza recipes I have found. I am not a big fan of the giant sausage patty, in the future, I will go for crumbles. And the next time, I will make a spinach and cheese version as that is my favorite at Giordano's. This recipe is not 5 stars because the veggies make everything wet. I have to figure that part out. And the sauce is too sweet. That is an easy fix. I get those two tweaked and then this goes 5 stars! And I will continue to make this pie because it beats the pants off of anything out here! And yes, have the time available for this pizza. Just like at the restaurants, this takes a while, but it is so worth it. Great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirbahashi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious! The biggest hassle is trying to get the dough in the pan, but other than that this is easy to make. The sausage patty was a cool idea...The family really enjoyed this, so that makes it a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! There is a pizza shop in Warren,Ohio that makes a pizza very close to this, always had to wait until we were there to get one. Now can make it anytime! The sausage patty is a stroke of genius! KitchenMama88's family is crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
cook sausage first as it doesn't get done before the top burns otherwise, very flavorful and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States