Double Crust Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Except for the crust, this recipe reminds me a bit of the Pizzeria Uno's pizza I had years ago. I used home-canned tomatoes (16 oz. that I cooked down) and fresh garlic, added a little oregano, and I did omit the sugar. I didn't wait the full 15 minutes of resting after cooking, which is probably what made the crust difficult to remove from the springform pan; the pieces I cut a little later came out without difficulty. Thank you for a very good recipe that my family has already requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StaceyD
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I just love this pizza. (my picture is currently 2 of 15). As others have stated, I too had to add a little extra flour to the dough. I also am quite free in my sauce choice since I usually go with what I have made and is in the freezer. For a family get-together, I don't make one huge pie anymore. I use mini spring-form pans instead. That turns it into a party and everyone can customize to their liking. One mini pan will usually serve two people. Or just my brother :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kirbahashi
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is probably one of the best stuffed pizza recipes I have found. I am not a big fan of the giant sausage patty, in the future, I will go for crumbles. And the next time, I will make a spinach and cheese version as that is my favorite at Giordano's. This recipe is not 5 stars because the veggies make everything wet. I have to figure that part out. And the sauce is too sweet. That is an easy fix. I get those two tweaked and then this goes 5 stars! And I will continue to make this pie because it beats the pants off of anything out here! And yes, have the time available for this pizza. Just like at the restaurants, this takes a while, but it is so worth it. Great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirbahashi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Delicious! The biggest hassle is trying to get the dough in the pan, but other than that this is easy to make. The sausage patty was a cool idea...The family really enjoyed this, so that makes it a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! There is a pizza shop in Warren,Ohio that makes a pizza very close to this, always had to wait until we were there to get one. Now can make it anytime! The sausage patty is a stroke of genius! KitchenMama88's family is crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
cook sausage first as it doesn't get done before the top burns otherwise, very flavorful and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I was following the directions so closely that I forgot to add the sauce to the pizza, because it wasnt included in the directions!!! When I realized that, I undid the top dough layer and poured the sauce on top of everything, then replaced the top layer. Lol I know... it still tasted great though! Other than screwing up not putting the sauce on the bottom, I followed the recipe exactly, along with the addition of chopped onion. Used turkey pepperoni, and 1 red bell pepper instead of green. Also used jarred mushrooms because they have better flavor in pizza IMO. I used both mozzarella and Imo's provel cheese. note* I probably added in another cup of flour or more over the course of kneading the dough (it shouldn't be too sticky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was ok. I made as stated and it was too much crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
All I can say is YUM!!! Followed the directions as far as putting everything together but also brushed both crusts with a small amount of olive oil and sprinkled with sesame seeds. Also used my own meat sauce made the day before instead of the one here. We were stuffed (no pun intended)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My whole family really, really enjoyed this recipe. I did have to add some more flour to the dough like some other people. This is a GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States