Double Crust Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Great dish but it should be called black bean pie . When my son heard bean pie he said yuk and when my husband heard bean pie , he said what, baloney cake for dessert? They both loved it! Added more salsa ,garlic, and hot peppers and corn. Really spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I followed the recipe except for using 3 large flour tortillas to layer the filling. Didn't make a pie crust or use pie crust. I sprayed my pie pan with cooking spray first. It only took about 20 minutes to heat through in the oven at 325 degrees. I warmed up the flour tortillas in microwave to soften them, also. One more addition I made to recipe is a small can of tomato sauce because I wanted it more 'saucy' but I suppose more salsa would have worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was very good after a few changes, based upon other reviewer suggestions. I added 1/2 lb of ground beef since I'm not a vegetarian, increased salsa to 1 cup, added 1 cup of corn, garlic, only used 1 crust on the bottom and used crushed tortilla chips on the top. I also increased the cheese to 2 cups. I will definitely make again, but will decrease the cayenne and add taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe, I loved it, my husband loved it, and I will definitely be making it again. The only changes I made on this recipe were I just dumped all the bean mixture in and topped it with cheese (though that was largely because I didn't read the instructions very thoroughly lol)and I didn't put a crust on the top, just left the cheese naked up there. That cut my cooking time down to about 35-40 minutes instead of a full hour. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a very good idea. I have never thought of bean pie. This turned out very good. Next time I will definitely make this pie with corn. I realized it can be good without cheese too, especially you need the top cheese layer. Thanks for the recipe, it makes an interesting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I had such a hankerin' for black beans and this really hit the spot. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was even better than we expected! I added a layer of tortilla chips with the cheese in the middle and on top. I used three cans of beans, a can of corn and no pie crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was just ok for us. It was super easy to do and throw together but it tasted the same as a mexican casserole without the tortillas. I increased the beans (used pinto) to two cans and was glad I did, or it would have been a flimsy filling. Increased the cheese to two cups and salsa to one cup. Still came out pretty dry. Swapped the green peppers for corn and added diced green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
made it with crescent roll dough came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Easy and very delicious! I did add corn and instead of cayenne pepper, I added tabasco. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States