Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is the first time in my life to make a chocolate pie. This pie recipe is the ultimate. So easy to make just remember to never stop stirring while it cooks~ using a whisk works best! My family couldn't believe I made something home made that was so delicious. Yummy chocolate better than my grandmother's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The pie came out to be pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I went on a mission to find the BEST chocolate pie...and I found it!!!!! Rich and delicious. My family and I love it. I put it in a graham cracker crust for the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I used a chocolate pie shell, and served with whipped cream, very chocolatey, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is the best, richest chocolate pie I've ever had in my life! I made it with half and half, and it's absolutely delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Grainy, and way too sweet. Omit semisweet choco chips maybe? I think Baker's unsweetened chocolate makes it grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this Double Chocolate Pie for Thanksgiving and it was awsome. This was teh first time making this kind of pie and teh process was simple if you follw the directions. I will make this again, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateChad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The consistancy was great, but it was way too sweet. I would adjust the sugar and the vanilla. A tablespoon of vanilla is pretty strong. I will try again with less sugar and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great base recipe, but it needs a couple changes in order to make it perfect. First of all, DO NOT use chocolate chips. Chocolate chips contain ingredients that can cause items to be soft-set. Instead, I substituted 6 oz. semi sweet chocolate and then the 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate already called for in the recipe. I suggest using whole milk simply because it will yield the best results, but I'm sure you could sub. lower fat milk and it turn out just fine. I also used a chocolate graham cracker crust instead of the normal pie crust. Once your milk/chocolate mixture gets warm, temper it into your eggs. This essentially means to whisk constantly to ensure the eggs don't curdle. Add that mixture back to the pot, and whisk constantly until it boils. You want it to boil for a good minute and make sure you whisk during that minute. Pour into a pie shell, cover with plastic wrap and chill. For those who complained about it being lumpy, it could be you didn't temper the eggs correctly and you're tasting pieces of egg. If it's grainy, you likely didn't cook it long enough and you're still tasting the cornstarch. I'm sure using a store-brand chocolate chip can also yield lumpy results because they just don't melt the way toll house does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Most amazing chocolate pie I've ever made and it stood up beautifully when sliced!!! Added some chocolate chips to the crust when it was hot and spread them around to keep the crust from getting soggy. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States