Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
after reading reviews saying was too sweet - i used bitter dark choc chips instead of the semisweet chips - i followed rest of recipe to the letter and this was the BEST pie ever! it set wonderfully and i can't even decribe how creamy and delish it was! great recipe! i will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
WoW! This is incedibly rich and delicious! I used 2 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. It made the filling a tad richer and creamier. I also replaced the chocolate with 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 2 1/2 ounces of a dark chocolate candy bar because that is what I had on hand - it turned out super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this pie for Thanksgiving, increasing the amount of corn starch a bit. It came out fantastic!!! Easily the best chocolate pie I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This pie is so rich no one could eat a whole piece, I don't know how to lighten it up. Had excellent taste, but was like eating a wedge of fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
amazing. used homemade graham cracker crust with touch of cinnamon. cut down sugar to 1&1/4 cups. increased corn starch to 4 generous tablespoons. used 2% milk with 1/4cup half and half. topped with fresh homemade whipped cream sweetened with white sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My family loved this pie. I personally think next time I'll try a bit less sugar, and more cornstarch. It comes out more like pudding, than pie (like pumpkin pie consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Super Easy and Absolutely Delicious! I might try cutting back the sugar or substituting some agave as it is a bit sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was so good...tasted like a brownie!!! Easy to make and the taste is outstanding. Rich & creamy...wish I could've ate more than one piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is THE BEST chocolate cream pie recipe on this site that I've tried. I've tried several of the higher rated ones, and I didn't really like them -- I think I don't like ones that use flour. I used just 1 cup of sugar and it set up fine (I'm not sure why it didn't set up for some people, unless they just didn't cook it right). Next time I'll increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, and I think 1 1/2 cups as instructed is probably perfect for most people -- I tend to like things less sweet. This is extremely RICH so I would either make a meringue with the leftover whites next time or make homemade whipped cream as Cool Whip is a little too rich a topping for this too :) Thank you, Corwynn Darkholme, for my family's new favorite chocolate pie! (P.S. The filling DOES fit in 1 deep dish crust, but it mounds up very high and there's no way you're putting a meringue or decorative whipped cream topping over it and then fitting it in a pie carrier. The Cool Whip on mine was smashed against the top of my pie carrier -- next time I'll put this filling in 2 pies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mathijs
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
A delicious chocolate pie. The filling tastes like pudding, but with a stronger cacao flavor than the average supermarket kind. I used 500 ml of whipped cream to cover the entire pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States