Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
as with anything in cooking you can vary the recipe to change the flavor or add a little more pizzazz. But, for the basic, no-fail chocolate pie this is the one. I have been using this recipe for the last couple of years at Thanksgiving and Christmas and one is never enough, even if it is just my wife and kids. It uses cornstarch so as directed, you must bring it to a boil for it to set up properly. Thank you for this recipe. My wife and 4 daughters thank you as well. P.S. on a personal note... Adding some fresh chopped mint leaves is a killer touch for those who like chocolate mint flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfred Alapisco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
after reading reviews saying was too sweet - i used bitter dark choc chips instead of the semisweet chips - i followed rest of recipe to the letter and this was the BEST pie ever! it set wonderfully and i can't even decribe how creamy and delish it was! great recipe! i will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
WoW! This is incedibly rich and delicious! I used 2 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream. It made the filling a tad richer and creamier. I also replaced the chocolate with 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 2 1/2 ounces of a dark chocolate candy bar because that is what I had on hand - it turned out super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this pie for Thanksgiving, increasing the amount of corn starch a bit. It came out fantastic!!! Easily the best chocolate pie I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This pie is so rich no one could eat a whole piece, I don't know how to lighten it up. Had excellent taste, but was like eating a wedge of fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
amazing. used homemade graham cracker crust with touch of cinnamon. cut down sugar to 1&1/4 cups. increased corn starch to 4 generous tablespoons. used 2% milk with 1/4cup half and half. topped with fresh homemade whipped cream sweetened with white sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My family loved this pie. I personally think next time I'll try a bit less sugar, and more cornstarch. It comes out more like pudding, than pie (like pumpkin pie consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Super Easy and Absolutely Delicious! I might try cutting back the sugar or substituting some agave as it is a bit sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was so good...tasted like a brownie!!! Easy to make and the taste is outstanding. Rich & creamy...wish I could've ate more than one piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is THE BEST chocolate cream pie recipe on this site that I've tried. I've tried several of the higher rated ones, and I didn't really like them -- I think I don't like ones that use flour. I used just 1 cup of sugar and it set up fine (I'm not sure why it didn't set up for some people, unless they just didn't cook it right). Next time I'll increase the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, and I think 1 1/2 cups as instructed is probably perfect for most people -- I tend to like things less sweet. This is extremely RICH so I would either make a meringue with the leftover whites next time or make homemade whipped cream as Cool Whip is a little too rich a topping for this too :) Thank you, Corwynn Darkholme, for my family's new favorite chocolate pie! (P.S. The filling DOES fit in 1 deep dish crust, but it mounds up very high and there's no way you're putting a meringue or decorative whipped cream topping over it and then fitting it in a pie carrier. The Cool Whip on mine was smashed against the top of my pie carrier -- next time I'll put this filling in 2 pies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States