Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Chocolate pudding pie. Richer than using instant pudding filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Everyone really enjoyed this pie. The only thing that kept it from bein a 5 is the fact that I had to add cornstarch to firm up the filling. As is it was a bit on the runny side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronson McKinley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My search for the perfect chocolate pie is finally over! This is so good. The second time I made this I combined it with another recipe "Chocolate Banana Pie" I am not a fan of boxed pudding and this was the perfect answer. I needed 2 pies and combining it with the other pie recipe, it was more than enough for 2 pies. I followed the other recipe but used the filling for this pie instead of boxed pudding mix. I also didn't add the layer of whipped topping until I was ready to serve the pies. Chocolate curls and a sprinkling of chopped pecans on top of the whip cream made for a beautiful presentation. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I've never had success making cream pies, with this recipe I finally found success! I will always use this recipe to make my family's fav chocolate pie. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainFields

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rush Springs, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this for Christmas lunch with my family, and they would not stop talking about it. It was rich, and super yummy. I was expecting to mess it up or for it to be strange, but it was PERFECT! I put a meringue from Alton Brown on the top, and my Pappaw used his small welding torch to lightly crisp the tips of the meringue. You can find the recipe for it here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/lemon-meringue-pie-recipe/index.html I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wonderful!! Took about 8 hours to set up completely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanngoss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kimberling City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Very good pie recipe, just a little sweet for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
The people who got bad results cooking this pie just don't know what they are doing and didn't follow the recipe. This is a wonderfully thick, dense, rich pie that is smooth as silk. It is any chocolate lover's fantasy dessert. It is a annual favorite requested by all. I serve it with freshly whipped heavy cream lightly sweetened (just use a hand mixer) and it knocks it out of the park. The only change I have is not to press the plastic into the chocolate. I let it cool and then wrap the pie tin keeping the plastic off of the filling---put into the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
most of my family really liked this recipe, and even though it's not as sweet as other chocate recipes, it really tastes great, and is kind of one of those 'just right' combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
as with anything in cooking you can vary the recipe to change the flavor or add a little more pizzazz. But, for the basic, no-fail chocolate pie this is the one. I have been using this recipe for the last couple of years at Thanksgiving and Christmas and one is never enough, even if it is just my wife and kids. It uses cornstarch so as directed, you must bring it to a boil for it to set up properly. Thank you for this recipe. My wife and 4 daughters thank you as well. P.S. on a personal note... Adding some fresh chopped mint leaves is a killer touch for those who like chocolate mint flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alfred Alapisco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States