Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was amazing and very easy to make! Followed the recipe exactly as written and family loved it! I was afraid I had let boil too long after mixing in the yolks as it thickened quickly, but it was perfect. Refrigerated overnight and then served with whipped topping with mini chocolate chips sprinkled on top. Will definitely make again soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This has been a wonderful pie for me to make! I made this the first time last year for Thanksgiving...My family, including my father-in-law, ask for this pie for every get together. (And I make one just for him because otherwise he get upset that everyone is going to eat it all) I have also made this for just the pudding as a treat for the girls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeuwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
VERY good! I didn't have the unsweetened chocolate squares. Instead, I substituted 6 tablespoons of Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder, which I added to the sugar mixture and 2 tablespoons of butter, which I added when it was time to add the vanilla. I set aside 1 cup of the milk and stirred the egg yolks into that and then stirred the eggs mix into the milk and sugar mixture. No lumps of scrambled eggs this way. For those of you who don't like dark chocolate, you can substitute milk chocolate morsels instead, which are much sweeter. The pie was divine and will be my go-to chocolate pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazing!! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trulygem25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
The first homemade chocolate pie I've tried that didn't taste like plastic. Amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I was in a hurry and looking for a good chocolate pie recipe last night. This looked like the one my mother used to make that everyone in the family loves. If it's not, it runs a close second! Wow, it's rich, creamy and very good. I only had an 8" pie shell, so the remaining filling went into some pudding dishes (2). I usually don't have the exact ingrediets called for in some of these recipes and I substiute what I have instead. This time, I got to follow the recipe exactly and it was truely a good pie! I will keep this recipe and use it for the holidays! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Wow, very rich and very indulgent!! I placed my pies in the fridge for 4 hours and although they were good, I would probably just put them in the freezer and take out 15 minutes before serving next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Enjoyed but too sweet for me. I beat the whites & folded in & it came out nice. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added crushed oreos to the top of the cool whip - pie was gone. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States