Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We have made these pies for the last 2 Christmas Seasons and we love them. I follow the recipe using GOOD chocolate and it works perfectly every time. The only thing I do differently is divide the filling into 2 different pies and top one with whipped cream and one with meringue. The chocolate is so rich and creamy that the thinner layer is just perfect! We will be making these every Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Haven't tried yet but I will for sure. Sounds wonderful and sinful. Ha! May have to do this one this very morning, which is Christmas Eve. 20013. Have a Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Everybody loved it, the taste was good... could be a little thicker, it did not stay in "pie" shape once it was served on a plate, has the consistency of a thick pudding. Also it was a little gritty (I boiled it as directed). It was less gritty the second day when eaten as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious. I discovered after starting the recipe that I did not have unsweetened chocolate, so I substituted 6 tbsp cocoa and 1 tbsp margarine. Turned out great--this was the Thanksgiving pie that was my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was my first attempt at a pudding pie from scratch and it turned out amazing! (I wish I had made 2 of them so there would be more leftovers.) :) My family has always just used regular boxed pudding, which is good, but this was definitely a step up and easier than I thought to make. Definitely a keeper, I will never use the boxed pudding again. My only deviation from the recipe was use semi-sweet baking squares, as I didn't have any unsweet. It was probably slightly sweeter than the original, but I topped with a generous layer of whipped cream to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dionosaur
Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This pie was the hit dessert at our holiday gate together. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made a meringue topping for looks. Wonderful presentation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an incredible pie! I did sub half the milk for heavy whipping cream. I added 5 medium size marshmallows while cooking and this pie stood at attention. I topped it off by using a chocolate pie crust. This will be a holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I brought dessert over my friend's memorial day party, everyone loved it. It definitely tastes like rich chocolate and not like the chocolate-type flavor pudding found in other chocolate pies. I followed the recipe exactly except i used 2 cups of milk, 1 cup of half and half (as suggested by someone else). I should also mention that i used extra large egg yolks which might make a texture difference if you are using regular [smaller] egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulldogamd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My husband was craving a chocolate pie, so after seeing the reviews for this recipe, I tried this one. It turned out fabulous! I burnt the bottom of my saucepan a little, but that was my own fault for not stirring constantly as I should have. I will definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I have made this twice. Beautiful rich chocolate flavor. The first time the consistency was great for pudding, but made a sloppy pie. The second pie I was trying to use up a milk chocolate Easter bunny, so I substituted about 5 oz milk chocolate for the semi-sweet and cut back the sugar to a rounded cup and the vanilla to 1 tsp. I also increased cornstarch to 1/2 cup. The pudding seemed almost too thick during cooking, but resulted in a perfect pie consistency and the sweet level is good. Overall I preferred the flavor of semi-sweet chocolate but will continue to add extra cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States