Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I loved this recipe!!! it came out great and was a very quick and easy recipe! The only thing i did different was i changed the 3 cups of milk to 1 1/2 cups D or Whole milk and 1 cup Heavy whipping cream. It was so rich and definately favored by my family and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My mother's long lost recipe!!! My mother always made the best chocolate pies for the holidays. She passed away 14 years ago, and I have been searching high and low for something that would come even close. When I ate the first bite of this...I almost wept. It's my mother's pie. I can't believe it. I am so thankful to Corwynn Darkholme for posting this recipe. I am thankful to all those that tried it before me, and rated it the way they did. I was careful to use the name brands that my mother always used in her kitchen....and this Christmas we will be sharing her pies again with the whole family. By the way, my mother got her recipe from my great grandmother....so it's truly a bitter sweet sense memory treat! If you love chocolate...DO NOT PASS THIS ONE UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wise, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
If you like chocolate, you owe it to yourself to try this recipe! I have made it twice and received rave reviews both times. The first time, I used a traditional homemade crust. For this years' Thanksgiving, I had my stepdaughter pick up a crust, expecting a graham cracker one, and she came home with a chocolate one. Either way, this is one delicious dessert. Easy, quick, chocolate and delicious. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This pie was absolutely perfect. I had never made chocolate cream pie from scratch before and had been dying to try this. I had no problem with consistency or set up; the only reviewer suggestion I used was to add the white of one of the eggs, but I don't think it made any difference. This is a WONDERFUL recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This pie was absolutely delicious! It has a very rich, dark chocolate flavor which I love. The consistency was perfect-- it takes a bit of time heating and stirring, but it is worth it. I made it with a graham cracker crust instead of the pastry crust and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Been making this with pudding and chocolate chips for years to rave reviews. This recipe puts the other to shame. Delicious and easy. Much better than from a box. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Ive been looking for a recipe for a chocolate pie like my mom used to make forever and this is it! So now I can continue the delicious pie thats been in our family for 3 generations (till I lost it), this is so similiar, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleMere03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This pie was AWESOME! My 11-year-old actually made this for Thanksgiving and it was devoured within minutes!!!! She made an Oreo pie crust to make it even more sinful, and used whole milk. It was very creamy and yummy. We will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My kids gave this 2 big thumbs up!! I liked it too, but thought it was a bit too thick. I'll still make it again for Thanksgiving though. Topped it with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I was not very fond of the flavor. I think it was the addition of vanilla extract. I also did not find it to be sweet enough. However, it was creamy, thick and SUPER chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States