Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
If you've never had a trifle before, yes, you will think this is wonderful. I've been making trifles for years (chocolate with bananas, berries with pound cake) and I wanted to find a coffee flavored recipe for a coffee themed birthday at work. With all the great reviews I picked this one. Made my own chocolate cake instead of brownies and used vanilla pudding. I doubled the coffee because I taste-tested and thought it was weak. After doubling it, it had a nice light mocha flavor. I assembled it in the morning and refrigerated before serving, When I served it after lunch, I didn't taste the coffee anymore. People at work didn't care and still liked it, but I was disappointed that no one could taste the coffee, just tasted like chocolate cake and vanilla pudding. Next time I'd increase the coffee or buy something stronger. Oh, and I would leave some of the candy bar in larger chunks. Mine were crushed too much I guess and I didn't taste them. But everyone still loved this recipe, I just wanted a stronger coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri Gates Brody Therapy-Dog
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Terrific recipe. I add extra coffee for more of a coffee flavor. I also add coffee to the whipped cream and layer that in a separate layer from the pudding layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is the recipe my Mom has been using for years. It's richly filling and a guaranteed crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
My family and friends love this! I use fresh fruit instead of the chocolate... usually raspberries and white chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I've made this for years and get regular requests for it. I can't tolerate non-dairy products anymore so I make fresh whipped cream and subsitute it for the cool whip. The extra 2 minutes it takes to whip the cream is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious. Everybody wants me to bring this any party party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious recipe that everyone raved about at work. I used the family size box of brownie mix, french vanilla flavored whipped topping and 3 cups milk. I think 1 3/4 cups milk is a typo and maybe that was supposed to be used per box of pudding. I followed the directions on the box of pudding for pie- 3 cups of milk for 2 boxes pudding. I will definitely make again and thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
OMG!!!! This was soooooo good. I made it as a dessert for Christmas dinner. Amongst many desserts, this was the first to go. Everyone raved about it and kept telling others to go try it before it was gone. My nephew even asked me the next day, "do you happen to have anymore of that delicious dessert left at your house?". Unfortunately I took home an empty bowl. I am so going to make this again and again. Fantastic job ADRSEW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is a great alternative to the traditional berry trifle. It was very rich. It went very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This recipe got rave reviews at the office potluck - though I did make a few changes for my own personal taste. I'm not a fan of non-dairy topping, so I used two cups of heavy whipping cream that I beat with 1/2 cup sugar in place of the 2 cups of thawed frozen topping. I also substituted cookies and cream pudding in place of the white chocolate, and used mocha fudge brownie mix for an extra kick of mocha. I only had the mini heath bars, so used 24 of those. It was delicious, and not too difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States