Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
96 cookies!? Yow! After reading other reviews, I halved the recipe and used only 1 cup of butter. Absolutely delicious. Best cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Excellent! We are eating them up! I altered the recipe by using only 2 cups butter, for the sugar used 2 C white and 2 C brown and lastly used 1.5 tsp peppermint. Wow! They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe called for too much butter. The cookies were extremly oily and could barely hold its shape. The flavor was quite good though so I will give it another try with some modifications. 2 cups instead of 2.5 cups of butter. I would also increase the peppermint extract also to 1.5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This was a wonderfully soft and tasty cookie! I had to bake mine an extra two minutes, but everything else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this with two cups of butter as advised by the other reviewer, and the cookies came out of the oven so pretty and soft. I baked some of them a little longer because I wanted to have crispier cookies, but my kids said that the softer ones were better. They absolutely loved these cookies. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was attracted to this recipe by the good reviews, and wasn't disappointed. I baked most of them tonight. (I'm saving some dough in the fridge.) I recommend taking other bakers' advice on reducing the fat in this recipe. I used 2 C unsalted butter, and altered nothing else. They came out a little flat, but nice and chewy with a pleasant, light mint flavor. Using butter that is barely softened, just enough to cream the sugar, would probably fix the flatness. If you have convection, bake them at 330 degrees for about 7-8 minutes. Take them out when they look set and puffed. I really like these with crushed candy canes on top - the candy does melt a bit, but they look and taste festive. Eat these within 2-3 days: brownie-type cookies get hard fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivelle90
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love these!! Halved the recipe but ended up with 61 cookies. Reduced the sugar to 1.5cups of sugar (vs. 2 cups). Omitted vanilla. Increased peppermint to 3/4tsp. Reduced chocolate chips to 1/2 cup (used peppermint chocolate chips) Pressed crushed candy canes into them fresh out of the oven and they turned out great. (also tried pressing the cookies into candy canes pre-baking but the candy melted and looked messy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
These were much better than I thought...very tasty, perfect combo of chocolate and mint. They are crunchy on the outside and chewy in the middle. I didn't give them 5 stars just because I had a lot of trouble keeping the bottoms from burning, while insuring they weren't completely doughy in the middle. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
The flavor was great, but the cookies went completely flat when they were done baking. I put them in the oven an extra five minutes, and they were still flat. Also, they seem to not have baked completely. I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luthiena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I had to add one more tsp of peppermint extract because I couldn't taste the peppermint. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and my cookies came out really flat. I think I'll stick to my old reliable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States