Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Amazing! we have used this recipe many times and it's my favorite cookie, by far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! The people who had runny batter possibly were using margarine because I did not have that problem at all. Also, my cookies were not flat at all. I followed the recipe exactly scaled down to 24, which is enough for a ton of cookies! This dough freezes great, so I think next time I'll make the whole thing. TIP: If you're looking for the peppermint extract at the store, do not get the mint! It has to say peppermint specifically. I've not made this three times, and I've discovered the secret to keeping them from getting flat is to add about 1 or 2 tablespoons more flour. Keep in mind that I only made 24 cookies, so you made need to add even more flour. The batter will look fairly dry, but does not taste like it when the cookies are baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great base chocolate cookie recipe that can be played around with. I just threw these together last minute and used what I had on hand. I scaled the recipes back to 24 (it makes more), used margarine instead of butter, doubled the vanilla, used 1 part white flour to 2 parts whole wheat, and used mint chips instead of chocolate. LOVE them, will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I used suggestions and reduced the butter a bit and upped the flour a bit and I really liked these. I added holiday themed white chocolate chips and peppermint decorating sugar and it was a nice touch. Consider decorating with crushed candy canes and mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These cookies are delicious and fun. A bunch of reviews that i read said to decrease the amount of shortening, so i used about half a cup less - but i think it would have been better if i had left it all in, i think they needed the moisture. i like chewier cookies, and these were a little crisp - but the extra shortening might have remedied that. i guess if you like soft cookies, use the whole amount. also, i would just put two teaspoons of peppermint extract instead of one mint and one vanilla. i added some crushed peppermint candies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I have made these cookies for past few years from the recipe I got on here. I LOVE THEM!! They are my favouriye and my family loves them. If I had my choice I would keep them for myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I was nervous about the large amount of butter used in this, plus the volume of cookies to make. I almost halved the recipe, but am glad I did not! These are amazing. I used 1 3/4 cup butter, adding 1 cup flaxmeal to replace it. I also subbed 1 1/2 cup brown for the white(only that amount since I ran out). I also added 1 3/4 tsp peppermint. I subbed 1 cup 10 grain flour as well. WOW! I am cooking them for more than listed. Mine are good at about 12 minutes. I have a convection oven and my family likes them crisper. They are STILL cooking now! I have hardly made a dent in the batter. Make sure you have lots of time for baking when making the full recipe. I can see how rolling them in some colored sugar would be great for the holiday presentation. I plan on freezing these to give as gifts for upcoming parties. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made 2 batches of these cookies and within 4 hours of baking them, they were gone. GREAT cookies. Very flavorful, I even added in some mini peanut butter chocolate chips to some. they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
these are the most delicious and moist cookies! Mine always come out flat but I can't complain about how they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made these last night, and they are the most incredible cookies I have ever had. i am officially bringing these anywhere I go for the rest of my life when I want to bring food as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States