Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Good chocolate flavor and great soft texture. I only gave it 4 stars because there is too much butter...cut down by 1/2 c. The other problem I had was that you need to bake the cookies at least 2 minutes longer than the recipe states. Unless you use actual peppermint extract (which is extremely hard to find) the cookies won't taste minty at all, but the chocolate flavor is still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Delicious! My husband is a mint chocolate addict, so I decided to give these a shot. I followed the advice of other reviewers and halved the recipe (still made 5 dozen small cookies), put in half white and half brown sugar, and added an extra 1/4 tsp peppermint extract. The texture is perfect and flavor is an excellent balance. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Great cookies, but better freshly baked. They have an odd smell to them after a few days. Overall, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderwoman19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
these are super easy to make and my coworkers all loved them. i halved the recipe and used a little less butter (1 cup instead of 1.25 cups). Also doubled the mint extract, and used MINI semisweet chips. I highly suggest you do the same three things - lil less butter, lil more mint, and MINI. i dont kno how well these last from day to day since they all disappeared within hours, but they def taste better 3 hrs later than they do straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I had to add one more tsp of peppermint extract because I couldn't taste the peppermint. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and my cookies came out really flat. I think I'll stick to my old reliable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is so good! My son made them and my whole family loved them! My kids asked if they could have one every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yum!!! Cut recipe in half for 4 dozen. Mistakenly added 1-1/4 sticks butter instead of 1-1/4 cup. Cookies were still good! Also recipe called for 1/2 tsp peppermint - I added 1 tsp for extra minty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was attracted to this recipe by the good reviews, and wasn't disappointed. I baked most of them tonight. (I'm saving some dough in the fridge.) I recommend taking other bakers' advice on reducing the fat in this recipe. I used 2 C unsalted butter, and altered nothing else. They came out a little flat, but nice and chewy with a pleasant, light mint flavor. Using butter that is barely softened, just enough to cream the sugar, would probably fix the flatness. If you have convection, bake them at 330 degrees for about 7-8 minutes. Take them out when they look set and puffed. I really like these with crushed candy canes on top - the candy does melt a bit, but they look and taste festive. Eat these within 2-3 days: brownie-type cookies get hard fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivelle90
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love these!! Halved the recipe but ended up with 61 cookies. Reduced the sugar to 1.5cups of sugar (vs. 2 cups). Omitted vanilla. Increased peppermint to 3/4tsp. Reduced chocolate chips to 1/2 cup (used peppermint chocolate chips) Pressed crushed candy canes into them fresh out of the oven and they turned out great. (also tried pressing the cookies into candy canes pre-baking but the candy melted and looked messy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Surprisingly enough these cookies were bland and I don't plan on making them again. I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States