Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yum!!! Cut recipe in half for 4 dozen. Mistakenly added 1-1/4 sticks butter instead of 1-1/4 cup. Cookies were still good! Also recipe called for 1/2 tsp peppermint - I added 1 tsp for extra minty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was attracted to this recipe by the good reviews, and wasn't disappointed. I baked most of them tonight. (I'm saving some dough in the fridge.) I recommend taking other bakers' advice on reducing the fat in this recipe. I used 2 C unsalted butter, and altered nothing else. They came out a little flat, but nice and chewy with a pleasant, light mint flavor. Using butter that is barely softened, just enough to cream the sugar, would probably fix the flatness. If you have convection, bake them at 330 degrees for about 7-8 minutes. Take them out when they look set and puffed. I really like these with crushed candy canes on top - the candy does melt a bit, but they look and taste festive. Eat these within 2-3 days: brownie-type cookies get hard fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vivelle90
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love these!! Halved the recipe but ended up with 61 cookies. Reduced the sugar to 1.5cups of sugar (vs. 2 cups). Omitted vanilla. Increased peppermint to 3/4tsp. Reduced chocolate chips to 1/2 cup (used peppermint chocolate chips) Pressed crushed candy canes into them fresh out of the oven and they turned out great. (also tried pressing the cookies into candy canes pre-baking but the candy melted and looked messy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Surprisingly enough these cookies were bland and I don't plan on making them again. I'm disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
also cut recipe in half. added a little extra mint. they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Delicious. I used margarine instead of butter and next time will use less because the cookies were a bit too flat and greasy. Also, used a mixture of semisweet and mint chocolate chips -- double chocolate AND double mint! Finally, cut the recipe to 24 servings, although next time I'll double the batch because it simply wasn't enough -- the cookies were gone by the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These are my favorite cookies in the whole world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlie2890

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I set out to make these after craving double chocolate cookies for about a week. Imagine my dismay when I discovered I only had about 1/2 cup of cocoa, and no unsweetened chocolate. Oh, and it was 10pm. Anyway, I ended up quartering the recipe, adding 2 melted squares of semi-sweet chocolate (after creaming, but before adding the flour), and only using about 1/2 cup butter. I also replaced the peppermint extract with additional vanilla. I can honestly say these are the best double chocolate chip cookies I've ever eaten! Crispy on the outside, chewy in the middle...heaven on a plate. Just what this exhausted mom of 2 little ones needed tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
they taste good and the recipe is simple. the only complaint I have is that they are sooo soft when the come out of the oven, they fall apart... I cooked them for the allotted 9 minutes and let the first batch sit for about 3 minutes on the pan.... when i went to move them they started falling apart.... I'm letting the second batch set for 5 minutes and hopefully they won't fall apart as bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States