Double Chocolate Marble Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This is a great recipe for the chocolate lover. I have served it sprinkled with confectioners sugar, and I've also tried it with a chocolate ganache. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I made this with 3 kids, followed directions perfectly and it was not good, very dense like a bread, the batter was delicious so I am curious if the cooking time of 1 3/4 hours is incorrect. The cake was dull and almost dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This cake is fabulous! The whole family proclaimed this recipe a keeper. Not too hard, just follow each step and that fudgy marble is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I wouldnt recommend this recipe. While the cake tastes really good, the texture was very dry and crumbly and I followed this recipe to the T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I just took this cake out of the oven and thought I'd offer that the cooking time is incorrect. Using another cake recipe with similar ingredients as a guide, I cooked the cake for an hour instead of the 1 3/4 hour that is written on the recipe. It appears moist and beautiful and passes the tooth pick test. Fast forward two days...When we cut the cake for my husband's birthday the next day, it was beautiful and tasted great! It's a hit in our family. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Used a round pan instead of fluted. Everything came out fine, only had to cook it for 1 1/2 hours, but not impressed with the taste at all. Very, very bland. Don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
it was an OK cake but really dry i would NOT put it in the oven for the full time its dense,brittle , and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A good amount of effort for a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I agree, a lot of effort for a dry dense cake :( Recipe is confusing when it comes to where to add the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States