Double Chocolate Frozen Fudge Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made these for my kids using FF evaporated milk and half the sugar. Using the evaporated milk gave it the creaminess that I was looking for with half the fat of whole milk. Instead of molds, I poured the mixture into dixie cups and let the pops firm up a bit before I stuck in the popsicle sticks. Great to make overnight so it's ready to go during a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. These are fantastic!!! I made a few changes - 2% milk instead of whole, 4 tbsp flour instead of corn starch, and 2 tsp peppermint extract instead of vanilla. I added the chocolate chips (dark chocolate) when the pudding was still warm stirred them in while they melted as mentioned by other reviewers. These turned out creamy, smooth and addicting (made 11 - 1/4 cup pops that I made in 3oz dixie cups). I'm going to try cutting the sugar in half the next time and trying different extracts but I will NEVER buy fudge pops again!!! **Update** I don't usually comment to this extent, but I just can't say enough... I've made these twice more cutting the sugar in half (still sweet enough) and adding 1 tsp almond extract to one batch and replacing 1 cup of the milk with coffee in the other. The almond one is tasty and satisfies the chocolate covered almond craving, and the coffee make a decadent cafe mocha fudge pop that I really just can't get enough of.... using coconut extract in the next batch and I can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wow, these have a wonderful taste! I'm always after sugar-free lo-cal treats, so I used splenda instead of sugar, 1% milk instead of whole, and light margarine instead of butter. The mixture didn't look chocolaty enough for me so I used 3 tablespoons cocoa instead of 2. Even skipping the chocolate chips, I thought the end result tasted creamy and decadent. I'm making a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
YUM! This recipe is a keeper!! I only had 2% milk but the results were excellent. After 20 minutes I added the chocolate chips as stated in the recipe. I failed to make sure the mixture had cooled. It didn't and the chips melted but I like it that way and probably won't wait the next time either. Thank you ying for such a YUMMMY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Even using 2% milk (with 1/4 c of powdered milk added), these were creamy and delicious. Plan on the pudding taking considerably longer than the suggested 20 minutes or so to cool enough to put the chocolate chips in. I put them in after it had cooled for an hour, and it was still warm enough to melt them. I would try stirring the pudding every 10 minutes or so during the cooling process to speed it up. They were quite sweet, so I might try cutting the sugar down next time. Using 5 oz dixie cups as molds and filling them 3/4 full, I was able to get 5 pops. The kids give these a 'million stars' rating and had fun helping make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are really good. Make sure to use the whole milk called for in the recipe, skim milk makes them too icy. I love that these are gelatin-free. Thanks, Ying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were delicious! After switching to a real food diet over 3 years ago, this is JUST what we needed to satiate Hubba's "need" for the store bought fudge pops!! We left out the choco chips (though he asked to try them the next time) & I used raw organic sugar. He said they may very well be the best fudge pops he's EVER had. High praise coming from a man that was a processed food "freak." Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
nice to make a yummy, creamy, chocolaty popsicle for the kids without any additives, corn syrup or !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These were very good. I made them with 2% milk, but I see from another review that I should have really used the whole milk; next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used 2% milk and skipped the chocolate chips because I didn't have any. Wonderful! My 3 boys loved them as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States