Double Chocolate Crumble Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I thought this was really good, but had to downgrade a bit since my 3 and 4 year old kids, and their 3 year old friend, would not eat them. Maybe that's because the texture is different than what the kids are used to (soft but top layer is crunchy). I picked this recipe since it has a bit of nutrition to it - peanut butter, cereal. At least that's what I told myself as I wolfed them down. Note that these bars probably would not travel well, since the top layer softens easily in warm weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Made these for years, always a hit. The bottom layer is meant to be thin, this is not a cake. Also, it is very easy to overbake the bottom layer, put the marshmallows on when it isn't quite done. Also, this recipe was first published in the March 1979 issue of Better Homes & Gardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was looking for a super-decadent bar cookie to make for the holidays and these were perfect. Easy and yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcchickadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
YUM! I have been making this same recipe since I was in high school (late 80's). Our home-economics teacher had us make them once and I have been addicted ever since! I still make this recipe on occasion and noone has ever complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I wanted to try this recipe only because I had all the ingredients in the house. I halved the recipe and baked the cake portion in an 8x8 pyrex pan. I also did not have any marshmallows and used marshmallow fluff and it came out great. The whole thing tasted really delish. I hope it still tastes good tomorrow....thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
These were a big hit when I brought them to a family gathering. Very addictive - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I thought these were really good as did everyone that tried one, the only change I made at the time was to add about an extra half cup of marshmallow to the layer for a nice even coating...however, next time I make I will make a couple of changes..I didn't think the peanut butter came through enough and would add peanut butter chips to the brownie layer, would also increase the brownie layer by half as it seemed a bit thin, I would also add more crispies to the top layer for extra crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe!!! I used a small jar of Marshmallow Cream since I didn't have the marshmallows on hand and still turned out great. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
My husband and I really liked these bars. The only reason I did not rate them a 5 was because I felt that the "brownie" part was too bland and cakey. My husband loved them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States