Double Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe is a complete DUD! I would never use it again. Soon I'm going to try other chocolate cookie recipes on this site and I have no doubt they'll be better. WAY too cakey. Not nearly enough chocolate. We put on some blackberries and strawberries on the second batch and I would give that 3 stars. I made them a TON better. But, they were STILL disgusting! Don't use this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
We used slightly more chocolate than the recipe called for but didn't make any other changes. The result was a great chocolate cookie that I've made several times now. Adding a little more melted chocolate seems to thin them out more and take away the "cake" feel some of the other reviewers mentioned. (Disclaimer: we also do not make the frosting- just enjoy the cookie by itself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I would give this less than one but I can't. Ugh is all I can say. Don't waste the ingredients. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I read all the reviews before I made these and decided to make some changes. I removed a 1/4 of a cup of the flour and substitued it with cocoa. I also removed the milk and added an extra square of chocolate. They were very rich and chocolatey, but more like a cakey brownie bite than a cookie. I also mixed M&M's into the batter to give them some color. They are good, but not what I look for in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My family and friends all thought these were amazing! I made them twice, and both times I went easy on the milk, used only 1 and 1/2 cups flour, and added 1/4 cup of cocoa powder to make them extra chocolately. I also put Christmas colored M&Ms in them to make them festive... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very cake-like and not nearly chocolaty enough. I used 2 ounces melted dark chocolate plus some cocoa powder and that's not enough. I'd play with the recipe to make it better. I like crunchy chocolaty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANND86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
anything chocolate for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Had these at Block Christmas Party Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If you don't add the egg, and roll them into small balls. They turn into no-bake brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to make a few changes, I melted the butter, used 3 squares of semi-sweet choc. and completely omitted the milk, making it more cookie-like & less cake-like. I also added some macadamia nuts. I will definitely do again, following these alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States