Double Chocolate Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
These are delicious chocolatey bars - a great mixture of crunchy and gooey! I used an entire small package of Oreos and increased the butter to 7 Tablespoons in a 9 x 13 pan for a thicker bar. Very good and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I didn't really like this recipe. It tasted alright (although a little rich) but the base was extremely crumbly and the top was really gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Rich and chocolatey. It was a hit at the party I took them to, several people asked for the recipe. So easy too! I think I will make the cookie crust thicker next time. Although I made it in a 9x13 rather than 11x13 I still would like to taste even more of the crust flavor to offset the fudge layer above. Cut small and definitely chill before trying to cut. I put parchment paper in the bottom of the pan to make removal easier, but I don't know that it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
These were very good-indeed very chocolaty. I did take the advice of others who had experience with the recipe and also ended up using an entire bag of oreo cookies as the bottom to form a thicker "crust" and pretty much left everything else the same. Very fast and very easy-especially if you have a food processor to pulverize the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADZIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
4 as written, a big ol' 5 with modifications. There would NOT be enough of a base if you made this in an 11x13 pan. I used 11x7 and it was perfect. Instead of using all the milk in the chocolate chips, I ended up pouring some over the top to help the cookies and chocolate chips stay in place (like what you do when you make 7-layer bars). It made the top not quite as pretty (you could see the milky color over the chocolate) but the taste is DiViNe =) Rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Excellent! I used all but about 8 Oreos (which I crumbled for the topping) out of a standard package, increased butter to 6 tablespoons, and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. Because these are so sweet and rich, you can cut them small, like fudge. I ended up with about 60 small cubes--perfect for a kids' Christmas party. I cooled them completely, then chilled them for a few minutes, and cut them with no trouble. (It's even easier to cut them if you wait till the next day.) Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This recipe is to-die-for. It is so easy to make and if you are a chocolate lover, you will fall in-love with this dessert. Instead of the semi-sweet chocolate chips I used the swirl chips with the white chocolate. This added a little color. Definately make sure this dessert cools before cutting into it. I actually made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge all night before cutting. Took it to a baby shower and everyone enjoyed. I will definately make this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The little one has claimed this as her signature dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sisss71
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
AWESOME! Especially the next day. I refrigerated overnight...even better than the day before (was easier and cleaner to cut too). I did follow the advice of others and I made extra for the crust at the bottom and used all but 8 Oreos (which I crumbled for the topping) out of a standard package, increased butter to 6 tablespoons, and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisss71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Absoultely incredible, and so easy! The only thing I changed was crushing several more cookies for the crust. I brought them to a party and they were a hit! Gone in the first 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States