Double Chocolate Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Sooooo goooood! I used the entire small box of Oreos (30 cookies, 24 for base and 6 for the top), and I used a 9x13 pan and it was perfect. They sliced easily and held their shape. I think I would like to add salted pecans to the top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These bars rock! I used 2/3 can of the milk with the chocolate, and used 1/2 cup white choc and 1/2 semi-sweet on top of the melted chococlate. Drizzled the remaining milk on top and baked as directed in an 11X7 pan. Wonderful. Will definitely make again, but thinking about adding caramel topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Cookies stuck to pan (followed recipe) - goey too sweet mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The little one has claimed this as her signature dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
4 as written, a big ol' 5 with modifications. There would NOT be enough of a base if you made this in an 11x13 pan. I used 11x7 and it was perfect. Instead of using all the milk in the chocolate chips, I ended up pouring some over the top to help the cookies and chocolate chips stay in place (like what you do when you make 7-layer bars). It made the top not quite as pretty (you could see the milky color over the chocolate) but the taste is DiViNe =) Rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These were very rich & delicious. They were easy to make. I made them for a party, and I got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
When I made these bars, I only added 1 cup of chocolate chips (melted into the sweetened condensed milk), and omitted the other cup of whole chips. I also used the entire package of Oreos in the crust as other reviewers suggested. Then for the cookie pieces on top, I used Nutterbutters instead of Oreos, because I love the combo of peanut butter & chocolate. I'm glad I cut down on the choclolate because these were very rich even with these changes. I think they may have been too rich otherwise. They were a huge hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
All I can say is WOW. I made this for some friends as a quick treat to throw together - they tried it and went crazy. Definitely a keeper - and it is SO easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thea2846

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These were really easy and delicious! I've also made them into smores bars by substituting graham crackers for the sandwich cookies and tossing abut a cup of mini marshmallows on top of the crust before pouring the chocolate mixture on. Bake them same and lasts just as long! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made these to take to work and everyone liked them. I think the recipe would be a good base for a more complex layer bar. Judging from the opinions of my co-workers though, it was fine the way it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States