Double Chocolate Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Cookies stuck to pan (followed recipe) - goey too sweet mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
The little one has claimed this as her signature dish.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
4 as written, a big ol' 5 with modifications. There would NOT be enough of a base if you made this in an 11x13 pan. I used 11x7 and it was perfect. Instead of using all the milk in the chocolate chips, I ended up pouring some over the top to help the cookies and chocolate chips stay in place (like what you do when you make 7-layer bars). It made the top not quite as pretty (you could see the milky color over the chocolate) but the taste is DiViNe =) Rich and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These were very rich & delicious. They were easy to make. I made them for a party, and I got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
When I made these bars, I only added 1 cup of chocolate chips (melted into the sweetened condensed milk), and omitted the other cup of whole chips. I also used the entire package of Oreos in the crust as other reviewers suggested. Then for the cookie pieces on top, I used Nutterbutters instead of Oreos, because I love the combo of peanut butter & chocolate. I'm glad I cut down on the choclolate because these were very rich even with these changes. I think they may have been too rich otherwise. They were a huge hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
All I can say is WOW. I made this for some friends as a quick treat to throw together - they tried it and went crazy. Definitely a keeper - and it is SO easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thea2846

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These were really easy and delicious! I've also made them into smores bars by substituting graham crackers for the sandwich cookies and tossing abut a cup of mini marshmallows on top of the crust before pouring the chocolate mixture on. Bake them same and lasts just as long! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made these to take to work and everyone liked them. I think the recipe would be a good base for a more complex layer bar. Judging from the opinions of my co-workers though, it was fine the way it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Super rich and chewy! Tastes like fudge. Small bites go a long way. Made it for hubby's work party and it was GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I loved this recipe! I increased the butter for the crust so that it was not so crumbly. I have made this several times and sometimes use peanut butter oreos and pb chips with the chocolate - this goes over great! Tried the holiday colors also! This is a go to recipe for children and adults alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States