Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Chocolate Heaven - I just couldn't think of two better words to describe these cookies! They're so chocolately and so chewy that it's almost like cookie meets decadent fudge brownie. These cookies stay soft for days - that is if they last that long! I made a few batches for my husband to take to work and people went nuts over these. This recipe is perfect so if you're new to making cookies follow this recipe exactly and you'll come out with perfect cookies that taste incredible. Be sure to have plenty of milk on hand 'cause your gonna need it for these chocolate treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I don't think it is much of a surprise that a recipe from Nestle is five stars, but my husband was sure excited to have them and has already asked for them again. They are best when still warm and gooey, but I was surprised to find that even this morning they are still soft. Most cookie recipes will harden over night. I followed the recipe exactly and would not recommend any changes. If you have a choco-holic in your house, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Awesome recipe! It took longer than 10-11 min, more like 15. When the cookies start "cracking" on top (as in visible lines) then you know they're done. Yummy! Edit: I made these cookies again a couple days after the first batch. I realized I forgot the baking soda in the first batch! (above) The major difference is that the first batch was very dense- but soo gourmet! But the second batch (with b.soda) was lighter and spread like a traditional cookie. I think next time I'll leave out the soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
These are great! I make them with chunks of white chocolate and they look fantastic. You may need to flatten them a bit before putting them in the oven otherwise they may be too puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
These cookies are idiot-proof. They rise nicely, taste great, and look like something from Mrs. Fields.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Like most of us, I don’t eat cookies much because I’m trying to watch my girlish figure. But HUBS likes to have a cookie now and then, something he usually likes to hunt for and grab from the freezer. In the interest of maintaining that girlish figure I had every intention of trying just a sample of these cookies – strictly for rating and reviewing purposes of course. But a bite of the cookie (pretty darned good) led to finishing off the cookie (so chocolatey and gooey and rich) and by that time I admitted my weakness and surrendered to another, which I scarfed down nearly as fast as it took me to take my next breath. I challenge any of you to be any stronger when it comes to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Very delicious! You have to be a chocolate lover to like this cookie, though! I recommend baking these cookies for about 7 or 8 minutes...this way they come out very gooey! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aspiringchef7
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
These were AWESOME! I was looking for a chocolate cookie that didn't require melting chocolate due to the time required. My dad, friend and boyfriend all loved them. I used about 3/4 cup of semisweet chips along with 1 cup of white chips for some variation. I also tripled the vanilla as I do with all of my cookies so I used a bit more than 1 tablespoon instead of 1 teaspoon. I also used egg whites in a carton as opposed to whole eggs to cut a bit of the fat. The cookies are soft and SO chocolatey! After reading other reviews I decided to press down the cookies before popping them in to the oven and I'm glad I did since they didn't spread out very much. Thanks for the awesome recipe! They remind me of the cookies at Tim Horton's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
my teacher used to make us cookies which she called them "super duper double chocolate chunk cookies"...everyone used to ask her the recipe but she never wanted to tell...I fell in love with those cookies!!...one day I googled the cookies and founded this one...they are AWSOME!!..they didnt taste same as my teachers but when I made this one EVERYONE told me they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
These are my husbands absolute favorite. I made them recently with hershey mint chocolate chips and my family could not get enough of them. Next time I'm using rasberry chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States