Double Chocolate Chip Macadamia Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I read the reviewer's comment about the cookies spreading out too much...I have two comments: first, my original recipe I submitted never said to grease the cookie sheets, so DON'T!! And second, when you use butter instead of shortening in a cookie dough the cookies will spread more if the butter is softened TOO much. If that happens, just refrigerate the cookie dough for an hour and the cookies should bake up higher instead of flatter. If trying the recipe for the first time, don't leave the butter out too long before making the dough. 15 minutes at room temperature should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
Excellent recipe. I used 1/2 c. white chocolate chips, 1/2 c. semisweet M&M pieces and 1 c. milk chocolate chips, plus the 1 c. macadamia nuts. My family and friends loved them. Crispy on the outer edge, chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This recipe has been revised to note that the cookie dough should be dropped by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These were ABSOLUTELY amazing! They baked up beautifully on an ungreased cookie sheet! The flavor was wonderful, and I even made them without the nuts and a little extra bit of chocolate chips. This is the greatest recipe for white chocolate chip cookies i've ever made. I did have to bake them almost 20 minutes, as they did not firm up enough in 10-12 minutes. Fantastic recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe... A nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny B
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was an easy recipe and really good! Everyone said they tasted like Subway cookies. I used salted butter and halved the amount of salt I used. I also substituted walnuts for macadamia nuts because they're so expensive! Cooked for 12 minutes but I rolled somewhat large cookies and I think 10 to 11 may have been a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Excellent!! I made a mistake and only used a 1/2 cup of butter but they still turned out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SU-LI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I thought these to be greasy as well. I did not coat my cookie sheets with cooking spray either. I think more flour needs to be added to absorb the amount of butter; 1/2 to 1 c. more. But a very nice blend of chips and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This cookies were easy to make and tasted great. I took these to a family get together and they disappeared in minutes. My family has already asked to make more for the next get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Average cookie recipe. I made a couple of adjustments. Added 1/4 cup of flour, and 1/4 cup of granulated sugar. Only used white chocolate chips. Turned out great! Without my adjustments though, I think it would've turned out two or three stars, that's why I rated it three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States