Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
All 4 of my kids (ages 9-15) loved these and wanted them again, and this almost never happens at my house. I have a rule that breakfast muffins must contain at least one fruit or vegetable -- trying to get the kids to explore healthier options -- and even my pickiest eater who allegedly hates cherries said that the taste of chocolate made them ok. My only change was to reduce the serving size for a younger audience from jumbo to regular muffin cups (I got 18 regular muffins, bake time 20 minutes) and add a teaspoon of vanilla because they usually like that. Like a couple other reviewers I am not a chocolate cherry fan myself but if I were, this would be my new favorite recipe and you can't beat a recipe that tweens/teens will eat reliably. Busy mom warning -- cherry pitting and chopping is a bit time consuming, wait til the kids are asleep or otherwise occupied because it's hard to break away when you are covered in juice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe makes delicious moist muffins. I did quite a bit of substitutions: halved the sugar (1/2 cup white sugar 1/4 cup brown), used 1 cup buttermilk with 1/3 cup butter instead of sour cream, coconut oil instead of veggie oil, and flax egg substitute (1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 2 tbsp water for each egg). Even with ALL those substitutions, I ended up with 11 jumbo sized muffins that were probably the most moist and tasty muffins I've ever made. From now on, if I ever have a lot of cherries from the farmer's market, I'll make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by viv w
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I ddin't have sour cream, so I substituted with Greek yogurt. And I baked it as giant 6 counts muffin. I baked 400F for 25 min and additional 350F for 7 min. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used dried cherries instead of fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
These are absolutely perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I tried the recipr last night. My flatmate said she is not into muffins because what she had before they were all dry. But this was amazing, she said, the best muffin she ever had. Even though instead of sweet cherries I used defrozen sour cherries. It was lovely. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made these this morning and they were fantabulous!!! I didn't have fresh cherries, so I used the canned cherry pie filling, I used vanilla instead of almond, and I eliminated the cocoa powder, so I added an extra 1/3 cup of flour. They were moist, the cherries and mini chips were spread throughout the whole muffin, and the taste was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent! I tried the "irresistible chocolate muffins" on this site the day before and did not like them at all. I hesitantly decided to try again with this recipe, and they were wonderful! I did substitute cranberries for the cherries (love that sweet/tart combo!). The almond extract gave a nice flavor dimension as well. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bringhomethebakin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Pretty good recipe but needs just a bit of alerting. I left the sugar alone seeing as how I was going to glaze them but while I was making them I kept thinking I should add a bit more sugar & vanilla but I decided against it. They're definitely good just would have liked a bit more kick out of them. Great coffee muffin, but kind of just okay on their own. With some tweaking this could be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Deliciously moist chocolate muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States