Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I followed this recipe exact only my assembly of the muffins was different. I wisked together the dry ingredients in small bowl with the chocolate chips (tossing the chocolate chips in with the dry ingredients helps them not to sink to the bottom of the muffin tin) and I combined all the wet ingredients (including the cherries), then folded the dry ingredients carefully into the wet. I did not have a jumbo muffin tin, only regular sized muffin tins. I was able to get 24 biggish muffins out of one recipe, baking them at 350 for 20 minutes. That baking temperature and time has always worked for me while baking muffins. These muffins turned out moist, chocolate-y and just WONDERFUL. My two boys just fell in love with them. My husband didn't say anything but he ate four in one sitting, so they must have been good. The amount of chocolate to cherries and the little chocolate chips was perfect. One of THE best muffins I've ever had. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I was eager to try something new and thought the combination of chocolate, cherries, and almond extract sounded delicious! I cut the recipe in half using the servings calculator. I tend to generously fill my cupcake pans so I got 5 tasty jumbo muffins. The recipe didn't specify the cherries, so I used maraschino cherries and 60% cacao chips in my muffins. I would make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Woozers, now this is the way to start a day! Delish. More like a cupcake than a muffin, IMO, but really, really good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
These were fantastic - I have made several times and also have done with frozen raspberries instead of cherries - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
So moist and delicious, definitely a 10 star muffin recipe. I used plain yogurt in stead of sour cream because that is what I had and I mixed the chocolate chips with the dry ingredients and the cherries with the wet ingredients before folding them together. Will definately make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I combined the dry ingredients, including the minichips; then added the combined wet ingredients; then added a cup and a half fresh blueberries. I added a fourth cup less sugar since the berries were sweet - & it could've used it without a problem of being too sweet. I'm sure cherries would be better, but I was in the situation of too many blueberries. (Still am :D) Sooo, using blueberries, we all agreed they'd be better without 'em. :) I liked the minichips spiking it. 'Have to use that idea again. Oh, I subbed half plain nonfat yogurt & half reduced fat sour cream. No problems. Oh, & one recipe made 20 muffins, not 12. Yeah, 20 regular size muffins - 3/4 full. They didn't rise like crazy so I think I'll try 18 next time - & have one less pan to wash. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good! Topped some of them with cherry buttercream for dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I took advice to add chocolate chips to dry ingredients and had chocolate chips in every bite. I also added less sugar than called for - and was VERY pleased with the turnout! I LOVE these muffins and will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I have to say these things are freaking delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tj7933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made these adding chopped cherries from our sour cherry tree, and they turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States