Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I should've read the other reviews first, as my chocolate chips all fell to the bottom and burned the muffin bottoms. I'll try these again and mix them into the dry ingredients first. My son and his friends still loved them, but I wasn't really a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
OMG! I didn't have cherries to use up, but they were on sale this week .... & now I wish I had a cherry pitter gadget. These are DELICIOUS. I only got 19 regular sized muffins, not 24. Guess I'll have to make another batch before the end of cherry season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good, but I think mine turned out more of a cupcake than muffin. Few changes I made: First I halved the recipe so that I can make 12, not 24 regular sized muffins. I didn't have sour cream so used milk+vinegar. Instead of milk, I used coffee to bring out chocolate flavour more. Decreased the flour by few TBSP's and added more cocoa powder by few TBSP's. Used half oil half applesauce. As for cherries, mine weren't all that sweet (quite bland in fact), so I soaked them in red wine+sugar (about two TBSP?) while I prepare other ingredients. Also added tid bit more baking soda than called for. Also added 1t of vanilla (probably didn't make too mcuh difference though). The result was absolutely delicious! Moist and very chocolately with yummy cherries inside! (And tastes much better the next day) I will definitely try again with sourcream. Thx for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These were good. I was able to make 18 normal sized muffins and 24 minis. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Oh My Goodness! These are amazing! I mixed all the dry ingredients together along with the chocolate chips as another reviewer recommended, and mixed the cherries into the wet, then folded them all together. Baked at 350 degrees for 22 minutes. Made 24 regular size muffins that were sweet and moist. I served them to my kids for breakfast, and my son said, "Mommy! Wow! Dessert for breakfast!" And he is right. Slap some frosting or ganache on these, and you could serve them as cupcakes. They are that good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Yum! These were wonderful. I varied the recipe a little because of personal preference. I never use vegetable oil, so I subed coconut oil. Also, I didn't have any chips on hand, so I didn't add them in. I couldn't get any organic cherries fresh, so I used frozen that I thawed out. These were really good. I don't have a jumbo size muffin pan, so I used a regular size and it made about 22 muffins. Next time I'm going to fill the muffin 3/4 full I think they raised up better that way. Thanks KJStrom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
So simple and came out great! I made a haf batch to start, but it was gone before I knew it. I think I cooked mine for an extra minute or two because I had to make regular muffins. So I set my oven to 375. In the future, I'll reduce that to 350. This one's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly except I, too, added my chocolate chips to the dry ingredients and the cherries to the wet mixture. It really helped keep the chocolate chips throughout the muffins! Wonderful, moist, tasty muffins! Definite keeper!! Whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Yum! These muffins were awesome. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and frozen cherries instead of fresh. Even on the 3rd day they were still moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Made for Christmas breakfast--absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States