Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent! I tried the "irresistible chocolate muffins" on this site the day before and did not like them at all. I hesitantly decided to try again with this recipe, and they were wonderful! I did substitute cranberries for the cherries (love that sweet/tart combo!). The almond extract gave a nice flavor dimension as well. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bringhomethebakin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Pretty good recipe but needs just a bit of alerting. I left the sugar alone seeing as how I was going to glaze them but while I was making them I kept thinking I should add a bit more sugar & vanilla but I decided against it. They're definitely good just would have liked a bit more kick out of them. Great coffee muffin, but kind of just okay on their own. With some tweaking this could be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just made these.. Tweaked 'em a bit. Added coffee instead of milk, vanilla instead of almond and fresh frozen raspberries instead of cherries. Sprinkled top with sugar/cocoa mixture. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Followed the direction exactly and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAM76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Amazing! My husband strongly dislikes cherries but since the muffins were so good, he couldn't get enough! Great recipe! I made a couple changes...I added one banana into a measuring cup and then filled the rest of the cup with half sour cream half yogurt.( in place of the 1cup sour cream) I also used sour cherries from a friends tree... They turned out perfect in these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These are pretty good, nice balance of chocolate and cherry flavours. I left my cherries halved, and I like the big chunks. Also used vanilla yogurt that needed to be used up instead of sourcream. The batter was pretty thick, I spooned it into regular sized muffin tins in heaping tablespoons, and cooked for about 18 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
WARNING: The cooking time is for JUMBO muffins. I missed that detail & felt that my regular muffins were definitely drier despite coming out at ~18 minutes (the chocolate makes it hard to tell when they are done). Mine tasted like a cross between a brownie and a muffin or cupcake. IOW, more of a dessert than something I would eat for breakfast. They were yummy, but due to living overseas, I had to make some substitutions: plain yogurt for the sour cream and rehydrated dried cherries for the sweet cherries. I also don't care for almond extract & subbed vanilla. Half a recipe made 8 REGULAR muffins, but I will definitely cook them for less time next time. Decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These are good. I like the combo of ingredients. They just didn't rock it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I loved the recipe. I didn't use almond extract. They were just perfect texture. I made them for our family reunion, and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I thought that this recipe was splendid! Instead of cherries though, i did what one reviewer recommended and used frozen raspberries. This will definitely be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil_cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States