Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Toinette
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
although didnt use almonds pretty solid results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this recipe with a few changes- on advice of other viewers I mixed choc chips in with the dry ingredients. Also, instead of using sour cream I used Greek yogurt. I substituted two 8x8 cake pans instead of muffin tins. I baked for 25-30 mins at 375 degrees. Topped with fresh whipped cream. Yum! My family loved this and I even have an extra cake to freeze for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Afsaneh
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Delicious, sweet and so moist. I didn't have chocolate chips in hand and without it, these muffins still taste good. I prefered a little bit more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, swapped vegetable oil for mostly unsweetened applesauce with a bit of coconut oil, egg sub, unsweetened vanilla almond milk for regular milk, swapped out 1C of the sugar for Splenda, and added an extra 1/2C of cherries. It made 24 regular muffins, which baked for about 18 min. Delicious and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Dunsmore
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This was awesome! I had to sub buttermilk for the sour cream and milk as I had no sour cream handy, and I use coconut oil for shortening, but they still turned out awesome! Made mine with dark vans cherries and it was like a flavour explosion every time you bit into one. Might have added a bit more cocoa for my personal taste, and will try so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Dunsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
All 4 of my kids (ages 9-15) loved these and wanted them again, and this almost never happens at my house. I have a rule that breakfast muffins must contain at least one fruit or vegetable -- trying to get the kids to explore healthier options -- and even my pickiest eater who allegedly hates cherries said that the taste of chocolate made them ok. My only change was to reduce the serving size for a younger audience from jumbo to regular muffin cups (I got 18 regular muffins, bake time 20 minutes) and add a teaspoon of vanilla because they usually like that. Like a couple other reviewers I am not a chocolate cherry fan myself but if I were, this would be my new favorite recipe and you can't beat a recipe that tweens/teens will eat reliably. Busy mom warning -- cherry pitting and chopping is a bit time consuming, wait til the kids are asleep or otherwise occupied because it's hard to break away when you are covered in juice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by printemps98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe makes delicious moist muffins. I did quite a bit of substitutions: halved the sugar (1/2 cup white sugar 1/4 cup brown), used 1 cup buttermilk with 1/3 cup butter instead of sour cream, coconut oil instead of veggie oil, and flax egg substitute (1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 2 tbsp water for each egg). Even with ALL those substitutions, I ended up with 11 jumbo sized muffins that were probably the most moist and tasty muffins I've ever made. From now on, if I ever have a lot of cherries from the farmer's market, I'll make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by viv w
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I ddin't have sour cream, so I substituted with Greek yogurt. And I baked it as giant 6 counts muffin. I baked 400F for 25 min and additional 350F for 7 min. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used dried cherries instead of fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States