Double Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Barc Cafe
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
We enjoyed this cake... Excellent . This recipe was our special creation. Congratulations BARC Cafe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barc Cafe

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
The party loved this cake, however, I did make a few changes. I took out 1/4 cup flour and replaced it with 1/4 cup cocoa. This gave the cake even more of a chocolate flavor. Also, I added 2 heaping spoonful of peanut butter. This helped with the dryness everyone was talking about and gave the cake and added bust of flavor. then I made a peanut butter icing (recipe: 1 cup peanut butter mix with 4-6 Tbls. water, melt two blocks of bakers chocolate, mix into peanut butter, add 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla). I then covered it with a chocolate glaze. Anyway, this cake traveled well, looked great, and was a huge hit. I know I made a lot of alterations, but that is what you do with a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
It did not taste like cake at all. It wasn't bad but not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
was like a big brownie - stuck horribly to the pan even though i tried my best to avoid this - i would use a differnt pan next time and probably would make this again as a quick treat for a party at the kids daycare - i made this as a birthday cake and was only somewhat impressed with my result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I just love chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I used this recipe when I was experimenting for my son's birthday cake. It was good but not my favorite. I probably will just stick with the recipe I've always used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I enjoyed the topping of chocolate chips and walnuts, but the cake itself was not moist enough and it lacked flavor. Definitely missing something, although it was easy to make after work. Also, the directions are for mixing the cake in the baking pan. It would be better to mix the cake ingredients in a bowl, then pour everything into a baking pan which has been sprayed with a vegetable oil spray, as the cake stuck a bit on the bottom. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
I haven't actually tasted it yet as its for my brother's teacher's birthday but it looks so absolutely delicious that I'm tempted to make another one tomorrow night. It's really simple to make and doesn't require complex ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States