Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Great cake!!!! Just dumped everything in and cooked for 50 minutes. Perfect. I heated up canned icing and drizzled over cake. Wonderful with vanilla ice cream. Next time I'll try it with peanut butter chips like one reviewer stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt B
Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This cake is delicious! It is so easy. I usually can tell a cake mix cake, but this would have stumped me. It is very moist. I made it for my Bunco Group and they (and my hubby) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Super chocolatey, rich and gooy. Used egg beaters (always do), light sour cream and light butter (what I had) and it was almost too rich. Baked beautifully in 54 minutes and topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze. We all said it was too rich but kept eating away. Definitely a special occasion cake for a chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use Sugar Free Chocolate Pudding, Greek Yogurt, and 1 cup strong brewed coffee in place of some of the cake ingredients and I use Sugar Free Chocolate Frosting to frost cake....you can also substitute Sugar Free Chocolate Cake Mix in place of the regular one. The cake still turns out very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
this cake is fantastic and really easy to make! I made it first for my hubby's birthday and have made several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was skeptical about this recipe since it use cake mix but after reading all the reviews I decided to give it a try...and I regret it. I always prepare my cake from scratch and now I remember why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
WOW!!! This is seriously chocolatey chocolate cake!!!! It's like death by choclate. Which some people (such as my little brother) would like. So I made it for his 8th birthday. And I used about a half a cup of mini chocolate chips in place of the semi-sweet because it was too sweet and gooey when I used the 2 cups of semi-sweet the time before. I also melted some caned chocolate icimg and spooned that over it like a chocolate glaze. That was realy good! I've also tried brushing a clear glaze over it made with powdered sugar,milk and a little vanilla. That tasted great!! This cake took about 5 minutes than the recipe said, but when you stick a knife or a toothpick in it ,it never comes out clean! It's probably because of the chocolat chips. So the best way to tell is to use a butter knife and if the melted chocolate make just streaks on the butter knife it's done. I hope this review is helpful. Try some of these icing ideas!(: Over all this cake rocked for the serious chocolate eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Firstly let me start by saying I can't cook and I certainly cannot bake! but I made this for my Wife for her birthday I followed the instructions to a tee and topped it with a Ganache from this site and it was absolutely AMAZING !! needless to say it earned me plenty of "Double Chocolate Brownie Points" hahaha thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This cake was AWESOME! My fiance was an ice cream cake for his birthday and I wasn't sure what kind of cake would do well in the freezer - I'm so glad I took a shot with this one! I used devil's food cake and devil's food pudding mix and traded peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips. I baked this in two 8" layer pans and it took about 35 minutes. I spread a layer of softened vanilla ice cream between the cakes after they were completely cooled and then frosted the whole thing with Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting and decorated it with mini Reese's cups. Very decadent, but my fiance absolutely loved it and the cake didn't get dry or rock hard in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HarryD
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This cake was very good. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips, and I use 1/4 cup of kahlua and 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup water. I drizzled it with Kahlua glaze (2 cups confectioners sugar, 2 tbs Kahlua, 2 tbs water), and covered it with Heath toffee bits. It was delicious and I got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarryD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States