Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
It was really sweet. Next time i will use less chocolate chips. The kids loved it though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Tasted fine but only came out about 3 inches tall. Sort of a disappointment for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this cake after searching for a "brownie cake" at the request of my sister for her birthday.The whole family devoured it and raved about how it was the best cake they have ever had. And get this, I didnt have time to make an icing, so I simple topped it with cool whip before serving. Its that good! I did NOT have a priblem with choc chips sinking, so just follow the directions as listed and you shouldnt either. Its simply divine! I promise! Oh and the only modification was I used coconut oil in place of veg oil. Better tasting and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious and moist! I topped mine with the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for our church bake sale. I cooked it in my regular baking pan and then (when it was cool) transferred it to a disposable pan. I had to cut a sliver off for it to fit, to was able to "sample" it this morning. Delicious! Moist! Chocolate chips did not seem to sink to the bottom. After reading other reviews, I used only 1 cup chocolate chips, and milk instead of water. The Betty Crocker Devils Food cake mix was a "pudding added" mix; no problems with it (as some others had mentioned). I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 35 to 40 minutes (as another reviewer suggested). I dusted it with powdered sugar, but the sliver I tasted was good enough not to really need any frosting or topping. Great recipe! I will make this again. I also used parchment paper in the pan. I let the cake cool on a rack (in the pan) for 10 minutes, then pulled the cake (using the parchment paper) out of the pan onto the rack. When the cake was completely cooled, I transferred it to the disposable pan, again using the parchment paper to steady the cake. Using the parchment paper also allows me to skip the grease / flour instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Try a chocolate cake mix with vanilla chocolate chips and everything else it says to add use a duncan hines cake mix. I havent tried to this recipe but it looks delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessielovescows123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made this exactly as written. Perfect, yummy keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
YUM! Made this with white chips and butterscotch pudding mix because that is all I had. I also use the vanilla glaze recipe from this site, but made it chocolate instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made exactly as stated except I used 1/4 cup veg oil and 1/4 butter (for a more brownie like consistency) and light sour cream. I made these into cupcakes- baked in paper liners at 350 for 18 minutes- perfection. I ended up with 27 perfectly sized cupcakes. I stirred the choc chips with a little dry cake mix before mixing in to keep them from sinking to the bottom- not sure it was necessary but they sure didn't sink so I will probably do that again. I am so glad I didn't cut the choc chips in half because they were great in these! Warning- the batter does get very thick and having to mix it for 4 minutes ended up blowing out my mixer! UGH! I guess it was worth it because these were just so tasty. I frosted them with Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site and will do the same again next time. Best served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Not only does this not taste as good as it looks, its actually a lot dryer than expected despite making it a second time and adding an extra 1/4 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of sour cream. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States