Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a fun recipe! I put white chocolate chips and peanut butter chips in it instead of the chocolate chips and it was great! I also frosted it with melted white chocolate. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this for a co-workers birthday and it turned out fantastic. I did not have sour cream so I just omitted it. I did use 1 1/4 cup of milk instead of the water and sour cream. I also put the satiny chocolate glaze on it and it gobbled up. It is quite like the bundt cake you buy at Costco. Also, heads up there is this exact recipe on the side of a duncan hines devil's food cake box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I have made this twice now. The first time I made it exactly as written - Excellent! The second time I lightened it up with sugar-free chocolate pudding, light sour cream, half the chocolate chips, and applesauce instead of oil- still Excellent! The lighter version stayed moist and tasted like a brownie, but not quite sweet enough. Next time I will add 1/2 c. Splenda. Thanks for submitting this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Easy to make and excellent taste. No frosting so it was great to put in lunches, my husband and I both brown bag every day. Definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Ok this was like the best thing I ever tasted and I have diabetes but I eat small amounts and I am young and my point is though my grandmom added iceing to it but it was still good the icing she used was cream cheese it tastes really good try it I love this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Excellent cake! I'll definately be making this one regularly! I toppped it w/"Satiny Chocolate Glaze" from this site but just a sprinkle of powdered sugar would be great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
WOW! I made this for my mother's 40th birthday and everyone could not get enough of this cake! I got compliments all throughout the night, people wanted to take slices home and everyone wanted seconds and thirds. This is a cake that can sell! The chocolate chips don't melt at all in the cake and it tastes just like a brownie cake. Instead of icing I used melted chocolate chips on the top and drizzled it with Hersheys chocolate syrup. Beautiful and delicious. I will keep this recipe for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good. Will probably use fudge cake mix next time instead of the dark chocolate I used this time. Made exactly as stated, except used half the amount of choc chips and used the mini ones like someone else suggested. Cooked for 50 min. It was very thick when mixing which took a little extra time, but it was worth it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used chocolate fudge pudding, 1/2 c. of chopped peanuts and chocolate-peanut butter swirl chips.(Using the peanut butter swirl chips insured that I would not wreck my diet and have any--not a fan of peanut butter. LOL.) Easy enough for my kids to help make, came together lickety-split. I whipped up a chocolate ganache and drizzled it over the top. My husband in one night ate 1/3 of the cake, with a little for the boys. Hit! Not only did it give my kids and I something to do, my family loved it. Keeper! NOTE: Want to make it a little less likely for your chocolate chips to sink, toss your chips in a little of the cake mix. Then, gently stir them in. Wa-la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States