Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I made this cake yesterday and my husband loved it!! Next time I would like to try as one reviewer mentioned to substitute the water for maybe Kahlua etc. Thanks for this wonderful recipe ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimnan
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this along with Amy's Marvelous Marbled Cheesecake for my sorority sisters and their dates for our Valentine's Day Philanthropy Event. It was beyond fantastic! Many people asked for the recipe! It made the event that much better and my time and effort worth it! I made sure to give credit to you on the printouts I made for them :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just baked this cake to take for thanksgiving dinner and it looks wonderful. I tasted the batter and it was awesome good and I tasted a few crumbs from the cake and it was rich and moist and chocolatey. Mind you, I'm not a girl crazy about chocolate cake. I did this at my family's request. These are the adjustments I made based on the suggestions from the reviews: 1. Duncan Hines devil's food cake mix 2. Exact amount of pudding mix and eggs 3. Light sour cream 4. 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted pure butter 5. Chocolate milk (whole milk) instead of water 6. 1 cup of mini chocolate chips instead of 2 cups 7. 1/2 tsp almond flavor 8. Stir chips in a little bit of the cake mix to prevent chips from sinking 9. Dust cocoa powder in pan 10. Since I only had a small bundt pan, I used part of the batter to make 5 cupcakes and the rest of the batter in the bundt pan so that the batter would not spill over. 11. Cupcakes were done in about 20 minutes 12. Cake was done in about 50 minutes 13. I cooked in a 325 degree oven The house smells like the holidays and I can't wait to slice it up after dinner. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Crenshaw Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this as instructed, and topped it with homemade dobash frosting. It was great, but better the next day. Next time, I'll do as others suggest and substitute the water for coffee or other flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a quick and simple chocolate cake that is delightful. It had good texture, very moist and everyone enjoyed it. I made this into four small bundt cakes and dusted with powdered sugar. Next time, I plan to use left over coffee instead of the water to enhance the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yummy! Easy but really thick to mix. I didn't have chocolate chips so I took the advice of another review and added 1 cup peanut butter chips. I put a white buttery almond drizzle on when still a little warm. We loved it! It didn't look like the picture though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yummy!!! Easy...and my family has asked for it again and again...I make it just as it is....the only thing is I add the whole bag of chocolate chips...and then poor a gooey chocolate sauce on top and sprinkle with mini chocolate chips.. I haven't had a compliant yet...and it never last more than 48 hrs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
i all so add candy bars to it !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is my wife's new favorite cake. I read other reviews for this recipe and cut down on chocolate chips (which seems like a sin against humanity) to 1 and 1/3 cup and couldn't have been more pleased. So easy, even my 5 year old son helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I've made this as a Bundt cake and as cupcakes. It's best to simply follow the "box" bake time vs trying to use a toothpick to test. (Bundt will usually take 50 to 60 minutes.) I've learned to limit chips to one cup for perfect, moist consistency. Easy as "box cake" to make and tastes like I spent all afternoon. Rave reviews from friends every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parker's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States