Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
Look no further for an amazing, easy cake recipe! This was by far the most delicious, rich cake I have ever made. I've made it twice and received rave reviews both times. For an easy chocolate glaze, melt 2 T butter, melt 2/3 cup of chocolate chips, mix together with 2T corn syrup and drizzle over the cake. I also used confectioner's sugar on top to pretty it up, and dotted with chocolate mini-morsels. You've gotta try cake this to believe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This cake was soo quick and easy. and moist and delicious too. my friends ate the whole thing! i only used half the chocolate chips and light sour cream and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This is the best chocolate cake i have EVER had!!! I made 2 cakes in 3 days. It is always kinda gooey, but dont let it fool you, it is done in about 60 min, just really moist from all the choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Very good recipe though it didnt come out whole when i took it out of the oven. It might have been that i didnt leave it to cool long enough. Anyway, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I used less chocolate chips the second time and it came out much less gooey and we ended up liking it a whole lot more. The first time it just seemed way, way too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
My husband really liked this cake, and said it did taste like brownies. I will definately make it again, since my brownies never seem to set. This is also a very pretty cake, I sprinkled powdered sugar on mine and a few people thought it was store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This is a very good cake!! I only had Vanilla pudding mix so I used it as well as only 1 1/2 cups of Chocolate chips and it still came out great. It does require the full hour to bake and I allowed it to cool in the pan for almost 30 min. I made this Sun. and today is Wed. and the 1 slice that is left is still moist. It slices nice and held together well for the lunch boxes. Great with a side of Vanilla icecream or a big glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This cake was FABULOUS just as it is written. I was surprised at how fluffy it got after mixing. It really made for a moist and fluffy cake. I loved the gooey chocolate chips... it was delicious served warm-- only because we couldn't wait to eat it! We just melted 2 Tbsp. bittersweet chocolate with 1 Tbsp. butter and drizzled that over the top. Chocolate perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This recipe was the absolute best cake I've ever made. I only added 1 cup of the chocolate chips. It was an abosolute HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
WOW...very, very good. The only chocolate cake I will chose to make from now on. I like easy, and I would even do this rather than JUST a box mix. Excellent with 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States