Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Meagan
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is the same recipe that is in The Cake Doctor (it's called Darn Good Chocolate Cake). The only difference is she says to bake for only 45-50 min. Mine took 48, any longer and it would be dry. I used a simple sugar glaze on top. I also used 1/2 c. sour cream and 1/2 c. soy milk and only 1 c. chocolate chips. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I have been making this cake for the last year or so with RAVE reviews from anyone who tastes it. It is great with only one cup chips, and frosted with store bought chocolate as soon as it is done, then served warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This cake was a hit. I made it for Christmas. I had to leave dinner to catch a plane (I ate a piece of cake though, and it was moist and chocolaty), but my sister told me it got rave reviews. Even my little nephew who doesn't like chocolate ate the cake. She told me the cake was eaten up when I asked her about it another day. I didn't have sour cream, so I used a substitute I found on the web that used buttermilk and butter (sorry I can't remember it exactly at this moment). And as always with baked goods, I added plenty of vanilla! I don't think I added 2 cups of chocolate chips though, but the cake was chocolaty enough. I also made like a ganache topping for the cake. I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyBakerBrittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I just made this for a friends dinner party and it was a HIT!! I didn't make any changes and it tasted DIVINE :).. i will definately make this again... Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suimai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I topped this with raspberry sauce and it was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have fixed this cake several times now and it's always the same result....it's usually gone within the day. Wonderful recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Hands down, my favorite chocolate cake of all time!!! I made this for my wonderful Mother-in-love for her birthday, she loved it, took the rest of the cake home with her. I thought my husband was going to trip her to get it back. I will make him one of his own. Extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Grayson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
There are no words to describe. Make it and you will see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica Boles
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it was very moist. I used the "Easy chocolate bundt cake glaze" from this site. I prefer this cake warm, so this afternoon I heated it up in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Boles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I love this cake and so does everybody I serve it to. I get comments from people who don't even like chocolate that they love this cake. I use chocolate fudge cake mix and put it in a 9x13 inch pan and ice it with fudgey frosting. YUM!!! Also, I don't always add choc. chips. So moist and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States