Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used chocolate fudge pudding, 1/2 c. of chopped peanuts and chocolate-peanut butter swirl chips.(Using the peanut butter swirl chips insured that I would not wreck my diet and have any--not a fan of peanut butter. LOL.) Easy enough for my kids to help make, came together lickety-split. I whipped up a chocolate ganache and drizzled it over the top. My husband in one night ate 1/3 of the cake, with a little for the boys. Hit! Not only did it give my kids and I something to do, my family loved it. Keeper! NOTE: Want to make it a little less likely for your chocolate chips to sink, toss your chips in a little of the cake mix. Then, gently stir them in. Wa-la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Wow! This was a great big hit. As another reviewer's suggestion, I used the shiny chocolate glaze, which was perfect. I roasted pecans, chopped and sprinkled on top. Instead of using water in the cake mix, I used coffee and I also put a little instant coffee in the glaze. It was absolutely delicious. I brought some into work today and they all went crazy (even though it was almost 3 days old...it was still yummy). Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
When making this cake, the batter was very thick and had an almost gummy consistency. It was so thick the beaters on my hand held mixer could barely move and the mixer ended up over-heating and turned off! I was tempted to add more liquid because of this but stuck with the recipe as written due to all the good reviews, and the cake turned out delicious. I just wanted to share this for newer bakers like me so no one is put off by the thick batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
WOW! Unbelievably moist and rich! I made a glaze but it was better without. This will be my standard dessert for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kz
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I drizzled melted chocolate chips (with a spoonful of peanut butter) on the top of my cake! And put strawberries in the middle. Very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canby, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Pretty good cake...I used only a cup of chocolate chips and dusted it with powdered sugar when it cooled. I used chocolate fudge cake mix because that's what I had in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
So easy and the whole family just loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! Baked as two 9" rounds about 35 minutes. I used strong coffee in place of the water. Per other reviewers I only added 1 cup mini chocolate chips. I frosted this (it was a birthday cake for my daughter) with chocolate coffee buttercream frosting. Gone by the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
yummy,goood!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I used mini chocolate chips thinking that they would melt into the cake but that didn't happen. I actually only had 1 1/2 cups of mini so I had to use some regular. I got rave reviews from my family but I think I would cut down the amount of chips by half. I used sugar free pudding (the larger one) because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States