Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I left out the white chocolate and added chopped almonds and a splash of almond extract instead. They were delicious. After i got the basic shape formed, i sprayed a rubber spatula w/ nonstick spray and smoothed the loafs out. It worked like a charm! I did have trouble cutting them though, a few fell apart, but it may have been my knifes fault. Use a super sharp knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. For the second baking, we baked them for about 11 minutes "standing up," (not on one side or the other). They turned out great - not too crispy or hard. We also cut them about 3 minutes after taking them out of the oven the first time, using a sharp steak knife. The end result was delicious, both with and without coffee! We've found our baked goodies for our neighbors this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Much like the "chocolate dipped orange biscotti" the dough was a pain in the hoo-ha to work with, but the results were delicious. Make these only if you're willing to get messy for some good biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Pretty good :). I used pecans instead of white chocolate--I don't like white chocolate that much and I love nuts--and added almond extract, so there was just the slightest bit of almond flavor to go with the chocolate. Mmmmm. Even when following the suggestion of waiting only 10-15 minutes to slice the loaf, it was still fairly crumbly, but I managed to keep the slices together for the most part. Otherwise, it's a tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Great Biscotti. I added 1/2 tsp. of almond extract because that is very traditional in biscotti. I also had to leave in the oven longer after the second bake. Turned oven off and left in their for 25 minutes. Excellent! I will be giving these as gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is great and easy to make! I didn't have white chocolate on hand so I used swirled chocolate chips and it still came out great! Melted chocolate and flavored it with peppermint extract, dipped the bottom half of cookie in the chocolate to finish them off- made them look so nice and even better flavor. Will definately be a regular on my holiday baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband actually made this in Dec. '07 "just because", and I don't usually have biscotti. But as it turned out, this is an awesome recipe. He had friends and relatives requesting that he make lots more. This is a definite do over and over and over ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Excellent flavor! Everyone that tried them loved them! The dough is easy to work with. I used the new Hershey Special Dark cocoa for the extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This worked well and the flavor was very nice. I used slightly less cocoa (personal preference) and omitted the added chocolates, instead adding 1 cup crushed slivered almonds and 1 tsp. almond extract. There is no way I could've gotten 36 biscotti from this recipe, though; I ended up with 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These are great and easy to make! Only change I made was substituting 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States