Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I followed recipe exactly. They were so good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm from Virginia, my husband is from NC, and we now live in Seattle, WA (which has some of the best oysters in the country) we have certainly have had our share of fried oysters! This recipe was the easiest I've ever tried and made a very crisp, light and tasty covering for the oyster. It also did not mask the flavor of the oyster but balanced it well with the sweet hint of the pancake mix with the spice of the Old Bay Seasoning. I am always disappointed when cornmeal or cracker batters become so heavy they separate from the oyster. This batter will thrill you as it's so easy- even a first time fryer can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Best fried oysters I have ever tasted! Followed the recipe exactly, using Bisquick flour. As delicious as it is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I think the pancake mix is just too bland for the oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This fried oyster recipe is by far the best we've tried! I'm a HUGE oyster fan and try them everywhere I go and these top most of the restaurant versions I've had! We love that the breading is so light and crispy and it really couldn't be easier to make. We've used this recipe many times and the oysters always turn out fantastic. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It's simple.. but the flavor and texture is not what I was looking for. I fried them in hot oil.. but they were mushy at the end. Probably a corn meal, flour and potatoe flakes mixture would have made them crispy and more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Omigosh! These were so yummy! Hubby and I had them for supper instead of using as an appetizer. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thank you, Dorsey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were good but we prefer our cornmeal/flour mixture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My husband & I thought too much batter clung to the oysters. I may have done something wrong, but I don't know what. We'll keep searching for a fried oyster recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I used belgium waffle mix and just dipped them in the mix. this was absolutely incredible! I really love the sweet breading. I used cornmeal on a few to see the difference, and the waffle mix was much better by far with its light sweetness. adds the real "yesss" to this dish. I've been eating fried oysters for years and never had em' this good. Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States