Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is sure a mess. Must be a better recipe. Love oysters but this was strange. Made Old Bay mix from Internet advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was very easy and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biker Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Sorry folks but on the Crunch Meter I would only give these a 2. They had about the same crispness and texture as a barely browned piece of toast. Maybe it was the levening in the pancake batter. My oil was EXACTLy he right temp and I cooked the oysters to medium brown. I was hoping for something more crunchy, maybe even like a KFC crunchy chicken piece. Eatable but don't put a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I live in the Chesapeake Bay area and over the years was blessed to have loved ones and friends who fried oysters in season and I got spoiled. They've all gone now and while I can buy them out I missed the homemade ones. I saw this recipe and it was so simple I decided to give it a try. WOW!! My son and I had a pint last night for supper. When I saw that Dorsey lives in Salisbury and he used Old Bay in the recipe I was sure he knew his stuff. Dorsey, many thanks to you and your mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe! I never would have thought to use pancake mix! I made this with 1/2 pint of oysters so I cut everything in half except the egg. I didn't have "regular" pancake mix so I used whole wheat buttermilk pancake mix. I used a scant 1/4 cup of mix then added a little more, bit by bit until I reached the desired consistency. The whole wheat mix added an extra crunch to the oysters, which was a bit like cornmeal... and very delicious. I added this one to my recipe box & will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRALU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was so easy and fast. The taste was great. I just fried a few for myself and did not have to bother with leftovers. Dorsey, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Really good and pretty quick. The taste was a family pleaser. Will do again. Only negative remark is that recipe says to use a skillet. Mine almost burned in the pan. Next time I'll use the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Followed as directed. I did not care for this recipe. Flavor was just ok, not too sweet, not too spicy, kinda bland even with added seasoning. I'll keep looking, to perfect. Was not the crunch I was looking for at all, cooking any longer to get that small crunch would have resulted in a black coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I followed recipe exactly. They were so good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I'm from Virginia, my husband is from NC, and we now live in Seattle, WA (which has some of the best oysters in the country) we have certainly have had our share of fried oysters! This recipe was the easiest I've ever tried and made a very crisp, light and tasty covering for the oyster. It also did not mask the flavor of the oyster but balanced it well with the sweet hint of the pancake mix with the spice of the Old Bay Seasoning. I am always disappointed when cornmeal or cracker batters become so heavy they separate from the oyster. This batter will thrill you as it's so easy- even a first time fryer can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States