Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Never fried oysters this way--loved by the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Hensley Lockhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The only thing that this batter stuck to is the bottom of my cast iron pot. Would not ever try this one again, and taking it out of my recipe box. Thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coldspring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is sure a mess. Must be a better recipe. Love oysters but this was strange. Made Old Bay mix from Internet advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was very easy and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biker Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Sorry folks but on the Crunch Meter I would only give these a 2. They had about the same crispness and texture as a barely browned piece of toast. Maybe it was the levening in the pancake batter. My oil was EXACTLy he right temp and I cooked the oysters to medium brown. I was hoping for something more crunchy, maybe even like a KFC crunchy chicken piece. Eatable but don't put a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I live in the Chesapeake Bay area and over the years was blessed to have loved ones and friends who fried oysters in season and I got spoiled. They've all gone now and while I can buy them out I missed the homemade ones. I saw this recipe and it was so simple I decided to give it a try. WOW!! My son and I had a pint last night for supper. When I saw that Dorsey lives in Salisbury and he used Old Bay in the recipe I was sure he knew his stuff. Dorsey, many thanks to you and your mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe! I never would have thought to use pancake mix! I made this with 1/2 pint of oysters so I cut everything in half except the egg. I didn't have "regular" pancake mix so I used whole wheat buttermilk pancake mix. I used a scant 1/4 cup of mix then added a little more, bit by bit until I reached the desired consistency. The whole wheat mix added an extra crunch to the oysters, which was a bit like cornmeal... and very delicious. I added this one to my recipe box & will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Hudson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was so easy and fast. The taste was great. I just fried a few for myself and did not have to bother with leftovers. Dorsey, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Really good and pretty quick. The taste was a family pleaser. Will do again. Only negative remark is that recipe says to use a skillet. Mine almost burned in the pan. Next time I'll use the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Followed as directed. I did not care for this recipe. Flavor was just ok, not too sweet, not too spicy, kinda bland even with added seasoning. I'll keep looking, to perfect. Was not the crunch I was looking for at all, cooking any longer to get that small crunch would have resulted in a black coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States