Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa Corinne
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These are amaaazing!!! I used gluten free pancake mix and they taste sooo good! First time frying anything and theyvwere super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Corinne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Total disappointment. They were just mush with no crunch to breading at all. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had a jar of oysters left from Thanksgiving, plus I Love fried oysters! These were Terrific! I added a seasoned flour mixture to panko crumbs. I grow my own Mexican limes and they were the finishing touch on a yummy appy! Thank You Dorsey, I won't soon forget these:)) I'll be sure to buy an extra jar next year too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just finished my fried oysters BUT I did an extra step and rolled them in plain flour after taking them out of the batter....turned out so much better than the first batch which I took directly out of the batter and fried, not so good, much better with the extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Turned out perfectly. Lightly fried without losing the integrity of the oyster. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Pretty good. Easy batter to make. I used this for the ones too big to eat raw. The batter made them sweet, but still too dang big to eat once they're fried. Note to self: big oysters need a po' boy bun and some fixin's. I'll let them cook longer next time. I don't think you can easily overcook an oyster. Lots of juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I like mine very crispy, so after removing from the batter, I dredged them in a mixture of panko and mashed potato flakes. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Never did oysters in my life BUT this recipe mad it so easy and I will use it again. I would have taken a photo but I ate them all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
i used this recipe after my wife said her's never comes out right, she enjoyed it as much as myself,good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Never fried oysters this way--loved by the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Hensley Lockhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States