Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I have tried many recipies for fried oysters and this is by far the very best and the easiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Hines

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Simple and delicious!!! Definitely a "no left-over" dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Omigosh! These were so yummy! Hubby and I had them for supper instead of using as an appetizer. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thank you, Dorsey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Really liked this recipe, takes all the time and mess out of how I usually do it (crackered) and I thought they tasted much better this way. So simple to do and very flavorful. Thanks so much for sharing, I will use this batter for lots of stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This was a great recipe, I think the pancake batter does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I served these as an appetiser before Thanksgiving dinner. This recipe was so so easy and tasted great. The coating was not too thick, but just right and easy to crisp up. I doubled the recipe, cooked about 6 at a time and the trick is to add extra oil when it gets too low or too many particles built up in the pan. I have made fried oysters many times and will only use this recipe from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My husband loves fried oysters and wanted them on Christmas Eve, but with everything else I had to do, I dreaded the batter-making and all. Then I found this recipe! Wonderful! He loved the flavor and I loved the convenience. (Oh, I loved the oysters, too!) Thank you for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
This gave me some of the most satisfying fried oysters I've ever had. And it is so easy. A huge hit on Valentine's Day. But, I'll be using this recipe lots. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This was my first time to cook and eat fried oysters. It was very easy to prepare and simply delicious.Iused 1 tsp. of salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Thanks, Dorsey. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I used belgium waffle mix and just dipped them in the mix. this was absolutely incredible! I really love the sweet breading. I used cornmeal on a few to see the difference, and the waffle mix was much better by far with its light sweetness. adds the real "yesss" to this dish. I've been eating fried oysters for years and never had em' this good. Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States